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MONETARY ENTITLEMENT 
 
 

IN GENERAL 
 

This chapter deals with the monetary requirements of state UI laws, including work history, benefit amounts, 
and the length of time during which a worker may receive UI. 
 
 Although the states have developed many different ways to determine monetary entitlement to UI, there are 
also many similarities.  This chapter discusses the following: 
 
• The wages and employment needed in a “base period” to qualify.   
 
• The period during which UI may be collected, commonly called the “benefit year.” 
 
• The amount payable for a week of total or partial unemployment. 
 
• Dependents allowances. 
   
• Waiting periods. 
 
• The maximum amount of regular UI which a worker may receive in a benefit year. 
   

While most workers are employed in the state that they live in, many workers regularly commute to a different 
state to work, work in more than one state, or move to a different state to look for new work when they become 
unemployed.  The law of the state under which the worker claims UI benefits applies as it would for any other worker.   
Determinations on eligibility, disqualifications, and the amount and duration of benefits are made by the state in which 
the wages were paid.  However, the process by which these workers apply for UI benefits may vary.  (For example, the 
Interstate Benefit Payment Plan provides a method of filing for UI benefits in the state in which a worker has 
qualifying wages even though the worker is not physically present in that state.) 
 

Although this chapter analyzes monetary factors separately, the relationship between these factors is complex.  
In comparing state laws, consideration often needs to be given to these relationships.   
 
 

BASE PERIOD AND BENEFIT YEAR 
 
 As stated above, a worker's benefit rights are determined using wages and employment during a period of time 
called the base period.  Benefits may be paid during a period of time called the benefit year.  Workers who exhaust 
their benefits before the end of a benefit year must wait until a new benefit year is established before they can again 
draw benefits. 
         
BENEFIT YEARS—The benefit year is a 1-year or 52-week period during which a worker may receive benefits 
based on a previous period of employment.  In all states, the beginning date of the benefit year depends on when a 
worker first files a “valid claim,” meaning the worker meets minimal wage and employment requirements.  In most 
states, the benefit year begins with the week in which the valid claim is filed.  Exceptions are: 
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TABLE 3-1: WHEN BENEFIT YEAR BEGINS - OTHER THAN THE WEEK A FIRST CLAIM IS FILED 
AR Benefit year begins with the first day of the quarter in which a claim is first filed.  As a result, the benefit “year” ranges from 

40 to 52 weeks. 
NY Benefit year consists of 53 weeks beginning with the effective date of a valid claim. 

 
 
BASE PERIODS—The base period is the time period during which wages earned and/or hours/weeks worked are 
examined to determine a worker’s monetary entitlement to UI.  Almost all states use the first 4 of the last 5 completed 
calendar quarters preceding the filing of the claim as their base period.  (Although Nebraska has no law provisions on 
this matter, its regulations establish its base period as the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters).  
Massachusetts uses the four completed calendar quarters preceding the first day of the benefit year.    
 
 Because base period employment and/or earnings are an imperfect proxy for labor market attachment, there are 
instances when workers with labor market attachment are ineligible for UI benefits.  To address this, some states 
developed expanded definitions of the base period. 
 
Alternative Base Periods (ABP)—A base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters 
results in a lag of up to 6 months between the end of the base period and the date a worker becomes unemployed/files a 
claim.  As a result, the worker’s most recent work history is not used when making an eligibility determination.  As a 
result, several states use an ABP for workers failing to qualify under the regular base period.  For example, if the 
worker fails to qualify using wages and employment in the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters, then the 
state will use wages and employment in the last 4 completed calendar quarters.   
 
Extended Base Periods (EBP)—Several states allow workers who have no wages in the current base period to use 
older wages and employment under certain conditions.  These conditions typically involve illness or injury.  For 
example, a worker who was injured on the job and who has collected workers’ compensation benefits may use wages 
and employment preceding the date of the worker’s injury to establish eligibility.  (Note that some state laws may 
describe these base periods as “alternative” base periods.) 
 
 
The following table outlines the options in addition to the standard base period that states use. 
 
 
 

TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS 
State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP 
AK EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if claimant was 

incapable of working during the greater part of a 
quarter. 

NV EBP:  Last 4 quarters preceding BY if 1 quarter has been used in 
a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 week if there 
would otherwise be overlapping of the same quarter in 2 
consecutive BPs. 

AZ EBP: Last 4 completed quarters following previous BP 
when new BY overlaps preceding BY.  Also, first 4 of 
last 5 completed quarters preceding the week a 
compensable industrial injury began if not qualified 
under normal base period, if claim is filed within 2 
years of beginning of disability. 

NH ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. 

ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters.  1/  CT  
EBP:  Last 4 completed quarters preceding sickness or 
disability.   1/ 

NJ ABP:  BP may be one of two alternatives: (1) last 4 completed 
quarters or (2) last 3 completed quarters, plus any weeks of work 
in quarter in which claim is filed. 

DC Last 4 completed quarters. NM ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 

GA ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. NY ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS 
State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP 
HI ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. EBP:  Up to 4 quarters, if worker has insufficient wages to 

establish a claim because of a job related injury for which the 
worker received workers' compensation.  ID EBP:  A worker who experienced a temporary total 

disability may elect a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 
completed quarters preceding the disability if the 
worker filed a claim within 3 years of the disability and 
no longer than 6 months after the end of the disability. 

NC 

ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 

IL EBP:  BP extended up to 1 year if the claimant received 
temporary total disability under a workers' 
compensation act or occupational diseases act. 

OH ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 

EBP:  4 quarters prior to regular base period.   IN EBP:  Up to 4 quarters preceding the last day the 
worker was able to work. 

OK 2/
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.  (Not applicable in any 
calendar year in which trust fund balance is below a certain level 

IA EBP:  BP extended 3 or more quarters if the worker 
received workers' compensation or weekly indemnity 
insurance benefits for 3 or more quarters.   

PA EBP: Last 4 completed quarters immediately preceding the date 
of the injury if the worker was eligible for workers’ 
compensation during the worker’s current BP. 

KS EBP:  Last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of 
qualifying injury.   

RI  ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. 

KY EBP:  BP extended up to 4 quarters, if a worker due to  
job-related injury or if a worker who has received 
workers’ compensation files an UI claim within 4 
weeks after having received workers’ compensation. 

SD EBP:  A worker who received temporary total disability 
payments under a workers' compensation law may use a BP of 
the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the 
disability, if a claim is filed within 24 months of the date the 
disability was incurred. 

EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if 1 quarter has been 
used in a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 
week if there would otherwise be overlapping of the 
same quarter in 2 consecutive BPs. 

ME 

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. 

TX EBP:  If an initial claim is filed within 24 months from the date a 
worker's illness or injury began or occurred, the BP will be the 
first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the illness or 
injury.   

EBP:  BP extended to 52 weeks if claimant received 
compensation for temporary total disability under a 
workers’ compensation law for more than 7 weeks in 
BP. 

MA 

ABP: Last 3 quarters, plus any weeks of work in 
quarter in which claim is filed.  (Worker may also elect 
to use this ABP if it results in a 10% or more increase 
in WBA.) 

VA ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 

MI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters if individual fails to 
meet qualifying wage requirements. 

VT ABP: One of two alternatives:  (1) last 4 quarters, or, if still 
ineligible, (2) last 3 quarters plus any weeks of work in quarter 
in which claim is filed. 

MN EBP:  Up to 4 quarters depending on length of time a 
worker received compensation for temporary disability 
under a workers’ compensation law. 

WA ABP:  Last 4 completed quarters. 

MT EBP:  Up to 4 quarters preceding the disability if the 
claim was filed within 24 months from the date of the 
worker's disability. 

WI ABP:   Last 4 completed quarters. 

1/  Provision is active from January 1, 2003 until December 31, 2005. 
2/  ABP not in effect in 2005 in OK. 

 
 

QUALIFYING WAGES OR EMPLOYMENT 
 
 All states require a worker to have earned a certain amount of wages or to have worked for a certain period of 
time (or both) within the base period to be monetarily eligible to receive any UI benefits.  Most workers qualify for 
benefits based on employment and wages in a single state.  However, some workers who work in more than one state 
will not have sufficient employment and wages in any single state to establish monetary eligibility, or would be eligible 
for a small weekly benefit amount.  Since 1971, workers with employment and wages in more than one state can elect 
to file a claim combining employment and wages earned in all states into a claim filed under a single state’s law.  The 
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“paying state” for a combined wage claim combines all base period employment and wages earned under its law with 
employment and wages transferred from other states to determine the worker’s monetary eligibility under its law.  For 
example, if the worker has earned wages in Illinois and Indiana, the worker may elect to file a combined wage claim 
using Illinois’ law if the claim is filed in Illinois.  Because of the potential of subsequently establishing more than one 
benefit year in more than one state, federal regulations stipulate that employment and wages transferred from one state 
to a second state for use in establishing a combined wage claim in that second “paying” state cannot be used twice to 
establish monetary eligibility.  The methods that states use to determine monetary eligibility vary greatly, as described 
below.  
 
Multiple of High-Quarter Wages—Under this method, workers must earn a certain dollar amount in the quarter with 
the highest earnings of their base period.  Workers must also earn total base-period wages that are a multiple–typically 
1.5 of the high quarter wages.  For example, if a worker earns $5,000 in the high quarter, the worker must earn another 
$2,500 in the rest of the base period.  States require earnings in more than one quarter to minimize the likelihood that 
workers with high earnings in only one quarter receive benefits.  Although monetarily eligible, those workers wouldn’t 
be substantially attached to the labor market.   
 
Multiple of Weekly Benefit Amount—Under this method, the state first computes the worker’s weekly benefit 
amount.  The worker must have earned a multiple–often 40–of this amount during the base period.  For example, if a 
worker’s weekly benefit amount equals $100, then the worker will need base period earnings of 40 times $100–or 
$4,000–before any UI would be paid.  Most states also require wages in at least two quarters.  Some states have 
weighted schedules that require varying multiples for varying weekly benefits. 
 
Flat Qualifying Amount—States using this method require a certain dollar amount of total wages to be earned during 
the base period.  This method is used by most states with an annual-wage requirement for determining the weekly 
benefit and by some states with a high-quarter-wage/weekly benefit requirement.   
 
Weeks/Hours of Employment—Under this method, the worker must have worked a certain number of weeks/hours at 
a certain weekly/hourly wage.  
 
The following table provides information on the qualifying formulas used by the states and the minimum wages needed 
to qualify for UI in each state. 
 

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS 
Minimum Wages 

Needed To Qualify: State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/ High 
Quarter $ 

Base 
Period $ 

AL 2/ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and qualifies for at least the minimum WBA. 1,057 2,114 

AK Flat amount.  1,000

AZ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter;  alternative flat-amount requirement: wages in 2 quarters of BP, 
wages in 1 quarter sufficient to qualify for the maximum WBA and total BP wages equal to or greater than the 
taxable wage base ($7,000). 

1,500 2,250

AR 3/ 27 x WBA in BP. 1,690 1,755

CA Either $1,300 in HQ or $900 in HQ with BP wages equal to 1.25 x HQ.      900 1,125

CO 3/ 40 x WBA or $2,500 in BP, whichever is greater. 1,084 
(in 2 HQs) 

2,500

CT 2/ 
3/

40 x WBA in BP. 390    780

DE 2/ 36 x WBA in BP; if insufficient BP wages, but (36 x WBA) – BP wages ≤ 180, eligible for reduced WBA.   920 
(in 2 HQs)

DC 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; $1,300 in 1 quarter, at least $1,950 in 2 quarters.   1,300 1,950

FL 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; minimum of $3,400 in BP.   832 3,400
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS 
Minimum Wages 

Needed To Qualify: State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/ High 
Quarter $ 

Base 
Period $ 

GA 1-1/2 x HQW; alternative: 40 x WBA in BP;  wages in 2 quarters of BP.       920 1,600

HI 3/ 26 x WBA in BP. 85    130

ID 1-1/4 x HQW in BP; minimum HQ wages, determined on July 1, must equal 50% of state minimum wage 
multiplied by 520 hours. 

  1,326 1,658

IL Flat amount ($1,600).  $440 in quarter outside HQ. 1,160 1,600

IN 1.25 x HQW in BP, and $1,650 in last 2 quarters of BP and $2,750 in BP. 1,000 2,750

IA 1.25 x HQW in BP and HQW 3.5% of the statewide AAW; or 1.5 x HQW in BP. 1,058 1,323

KS 3/ 30 x WBA in BP. 1,978 2,670

KY 2/ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and 8 x WBA in last 2 quarters of BP with $750 outside HQ.      750 2,945

LA 1-1/2 x HQW in BP.      800 1,200

ME 3/ 2 x AWW in each of 2 different quarters with total wages of 6 x AWW in BP. 1,163 
(in each 
of 2 Qs)

3,487

MD 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; If doesn’t meet qualifying requirement for WBA computed on HQW but does for next 
lower bracket, eligible for lower WBA, stepdown of 6 brackets; the multiple (1-1/2) is not applied to the 
worker's HQW, but the qualifying amount, shown in a schedule, is computed at the upper limit of each wage 
bracket (assuming a normal interval at the maximum benefit amount). 

     576 900

MA 30 x WBA in BP; $3,000 minimum.   3,000

MI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; or BP wages equal to 20 times the state AWW and wages in 2 quarters. 1,976 2,964

MN $1,000 in HQ and $250 outside of HQ.   1,000 1,250

MS 40 x WBA in BP, 26 x minimum WBA in HQ. 780 1,200

MO 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and $1,200 in one quarter; or wages in 2 quarters and BP wages of 1.5  x maximum taxable 
wage base for that year.   

1,200 
 

1,800 

MT 1-1/2 x HQW in BP with total BP wages equal to or greater than 7% of the AAW; or 50% of AAW. 2,632 3,948 
(in 2 Qs) 

NE $800 in each of 2 quarters. 800 1,600

NV 1-1/2 x HQW in BP or wages in 3 of the 4 quarters in the BP. 400 600 

NH $1,400 in each of 2 quarters. 1,400 2,800

NJ 20 weeks at 20 x minimum wage in BP; or 1000 times the state minimum hourly wage.  2,060

NM 3/ Wages in 2 quarters. 1,482  

NY 1-1/2 x HQW in BP, wages in 2 quarters. 1,600 2,400 

NC 3/ 6 x AWW in BP. 936 3,749 

ND 1-1/2 x HQW in BP.   1,864 2,795

OH 20 weeks, with wages averaging 27.5% of the state AWW in BP.  3,720 

OK 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement $13,800 in BP (100% state taxable wage base).   1,000 1,500
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS 
Minimum Wages 

Needed To Qualify: State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/ High 
Quarter $ 

Base 
Period $ 

OR 2/ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP, $1000 in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement 500 hours. of employment in the BP. 5,227 7,840

PA 3/ 16 credit weeks.  At least 20% BP wages out of HQ (see table in law). 800 1,320

PR 3/ 40 x WBA in BP; if fail to meet qualifying requirement for WBA computed on HQW but do meet qualifying 
requirement for next lower bracket, eligible for lower WBA, unlimited stepdown provision.  PR has a flat 
qualifying requirement for agricultural workers.   

 75    280

RI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; or 200 x minimum hourly wage in 1 quarter and BP wages at least 400 x the minimum 
hourly wage. 

  1,341 2,013

SC 1-1/2 x HQW in BP (minimum 540 HWQ and 900 BPW).       540    900

SD 728 in HQ, 20 x WBA must be outside high quarter.      728 1,288

TN 40 x WBA in BP.  Lesser of 6 x WBA or $900 outside HQ.      780 1,560

TX 3/ 37 x WBA in BP. 1,326 1,998

UT 1-1/2 x HQW in BP or 20 weeks of insured work with 5% of the monetary BP wage requirement (8% of state 
average fiscal year wages in BP, rounded to the higher $100) in each week. 

    1,667 2,500 

VT 1.4 HQW and $1,707 in HQ (HQ wages will be adjusted by a percentage increase equal to the percentage 
increase in the state minimum wage for the prior year). 

  1,707 2,390

VA $2,500 in 2 high quarters.  2,500 
(in 2 HQs)

VI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement $858 in HQ and 39 x WBA in BP.     858 1,287

WA 3/ 680 hours in BP. 11,100  

WV Flat amount. 2,200

WI 30 x WBA in BP.  4 x WBA outside HQ.  1,225 1,470

WY 1.4 x HQW in BP. (BPW must be ≥ state average annual wage rounded down to lowest $50.) 1,760 2,200

1/ All states require wages in at least 2 quarters of the base period except CA, CO, DE, and MA. 
2/ Additional monetary requirements in state law result in minimum high quarter and/or base period wages that are higher than what the qualifying 
formula, alone, would require. 
3/ See the state’s weekly benefit amount formula for the calculation of minimum high quarter wage or base period requirements. 

 
 

QUALIFYING FOR A SECOND BENEFIT YEAR 
 

Since the standard base period established by the states’ laws results in a significant lag between the end of the 
base period and the establishment of a benefit year, a worker could conceivably use lag-period wages and employment 
to qualify for 2 consecutive benefit years during one long unemployment spell (after benefits are exhausted and the first 
benefit year ended).  As a result, all states require workers to earn wages after the beginning of the first benefit year.  In 
many states, the amount a worker must earn is a multiple (from 3 to 10) of the weekly benefit amount.  A few states 
require a worker to earn wages sufficient to meet the minimum qualifying requirement.  In addition, some states specify 
that the wages needed to requalify must be earned in covered employment. 
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED) 
State Subsequent To 

Beginning Of 
Preceding 

Benefit Year 

Subsequent 
To Date Of 
Last Valid 

Claim 

Other Wages 
Must Be 

In 
Insured 
Work 

State Subsequent To 
Beginning Of 

Preceding 
Benefit Year 

Subsequent 
To Date Of 
Last Valid 

Claim 

Other Wages 
Must Be 

In 
Insured 
Work 

AL 8     X NE     Insured 
work in 4 
weeks.   

X  

AK 8       NV 3       
AZ 8       NH $700 during or 

subsequent to 
benefit year.  

     X 

AR 3     X NJ 4 weeks of 
employment.        

CA     Equivalent 
qualifying 
wages as in 
preceding 
BY. 

  NM 5       

CO $2,000       NY 5       
CT 5, or $300, 

whichever is 
greater. 

    X NC 10     X 

DE   10   X ND   10   2/   X 

DC 10       OH     3 x AWW 
and covered 
employ-
ment in 6 
weeks. 

  

FL 3       OK 10     X 

GA 10     X OR 6       
HI 5     X PA 6       
ID 5-1/2; wages 

must be in bona 
fide work. 

      PR 3; for at least 
one CQ; but 
not < $50. 

    X 

IL 3       RI 80 x the 
minimum 
hourly wage. 

      

IN 8      X SC 8     Insured 
work; 
must be 
with a 
single 
employer

IA $250     X SD 4     X 

KS 8     X TN 5     X 

KY     8;  last 2 
quarters of 
BP. 

  TX 6       

LA 6; or 3/13th of 
HQW, 
whichever is 
lesser. 

    X UT 6     X 

ME 8     X VT 4       
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED) 
State Subsequent To 

Beginning Of 
Preceding 

Benefit Year 

Subsequent 
To Date Of 
Last Valid 

Claim 

Other Wages 
Must Be 

In 
Insured 
Work 

State Subsequent To 
Beginning Of 

Preceding 
Benefit Year 

Subsequent 
To Date Of 
Last Valid 

Claim 

Other Wages 
Must Be 

In 
Insured 
Work 

MD 10     X VA 30 days work 
or 240 hours.       

MA 3       VI 6       
MI  1/         WA 6       
MN 8     X WV 8     X 

MS 8     X WI 8     X 

MO   5; 10 x  
WBA in 
non-covered 
work. 

  X WY 8       

MT 6; or 3/13th of 
HQW, 
whichever is 
lesser. 

    X 1/   No additional requirement since the lag period, if any, between 
BP and BY is too short to qualify for a second BY. 
2/   Does not apply to employment by a partnership, corporation, or 
limited liability company if, at the time claim is filed, ownership 
interest has been ceded. 

 
 
 

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT 
      
 After determining if a worker has sufficient wages and/or employment to qualify for UI benefits, it is necessary 
to determine what the weekly benefit amount - the amount payable for a week of total unemployment - will be.  As 
previously mentioned, UI is intended to provide partial wage replacement.  For this reason, all workers do not receive 
the same benefit amount.  States replace, on average, 50% of workers’ lost wages up to a certain limit (usually the 
average weekly wage in the state).  As a result, states tend to replace a higher percentage of low wage workers income 
than they do for high wage workers.  Several states provide dependents allowances.  All states round weekly benefits to 
an even dollar amount. 
 
 States determine eligibility for UI on the basis of the calendar week (Sunday through the following Saturday).  
In many states, the claim week is adjusted to coincide with the employer's payroll week when a worker files a benefit 
claim for partial unemployment. 
 
 
 
METHODS OF COMPUTING WEEKLY BENEFITS 
 
 
As with qualifying wages, states utilize a variety of methods to determine a worker’s weekly benefit amount. 
 
High-Quarter Method—More than half the states determine the weekly benefit amount by using the base period 
quarter in which wages were highest.  This quarter is viewed as the period most nearly reflecting full-time work for the 
worker. By dividing this amount by 13 - the number of weeks in a calendar quarter - the average weekly wage is 
calculated.  Based on the percentage of the weekly wage the state intends to replace, the weekly wage is divided and the 
weekly benefit amount is calculated.   For example, a worker who earns $2,600 in the high quarter has an average 
weekly wage of $200 a week ($2,600 divided by 13). If the state replaces ½ of the average weekly earnings, the weekly 
benefit amount is $100.  To simplify the calculations, states determine the “overall” multiple of the high quarter wages 
to determine the weekly benefit amount.  In the above example, it would be 1/26 (1/13 times ½).  (Note that this type of 
formula is used by all states using a multiple of high-quarter wages to establish a benefit year.)  1/26 is the most 
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common multiple used by states. 
 
 Since even the quarter of highest earnings may include some unemployment, some states use a fraction 
generating a higher weekly benefit (e.g., 1/23).  Some states use a weighted schedule, which gives a greater proportion 
of the high-quarter wages to lower-paid workers than to those earning more.  In these states, the maximum fraction 
varies from 1/11 to 1/26 while the minimum varies from 1/23 to 1/33.  
 
Multi-Quarter Method—Under this method, the weekly benefit amount is calculated as a multiple of the total or 
average quarterly wages paid in more than one quarter.  This approach is viewed as being more likely to reflect a 
worker’s usual full-time employment pattern since it surveys a greater period of time rather than just focusing on the 
quarter with highest earnings.   
 
Annual-Wage Method—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of annual wages in the base period.  
This approach reflects the view that annual wages determine the worker’s standard of living.  Most states use a weighted 
schedule which gives a larger proportion of annual wages to the lower-paid workers to determine their weekly benefit 
amount. 
 
Average-Weekly-Wage Formula—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of the worker’s average 
weekly wages in the base period.  
 
The following table provides information on how states calculate weekly benefit amounts, what the minimum and 
maximum weekly benefit amounts are in each state, and the wages required in order to be eligible for the weekly benefit 
amounts. 
 
 
 

TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS 

Weekly Benefit Amount ($) 
Minimum wages required  

for maximum WBA ($) State Method Of Calculating & 
Formula 

Rounding 
to 

Minimum 1/ Maximum 1/ High quarter Base period  
AL MQ  

1/24 of average wages in 2 high quarters. 
Higher $ 45 220 5,257 10,514 in 2 

quarters 
AK AW 

0.9% - 4.4% BP wages (See table in law.) 
Nearest $ 44 - 68 248-320   26,500 

AZ HQ 
1/25 

Nearest $ 60 240 6,000 9,000 

AR HQ 
1/26 

Lower $ 65; computed 
annually at 
12% of 
AWW. 

345 8,970 9,315 

CA HQ 
1/23-1/26 (If HQ wages < $1,833, see table in law.   
Otherwise, 1/26 HQ wages.) 

Higher $ 40 450 11,675 14,593 

CO HQ/WW 
Higher of: 
(1) 60% of 1/26 of 2 highest consecutive quarters, 
capped by 50% of  average weekly earnings (low 
formula); or  
(2) 50% of 1/52 BP earnings, capped by 55% of 
avg. weekly earnings (high formula). 

Lower $ 25 370 (low 
formula) 
 
407 (high 
formula) 

8,017 (low 
formula) 
 
Not applicable 
(high formula) 

16,034 in 2 
quarters (low 
formula) 
 
42,328  
(high formula) 
 
 

CT MQ/HQ 
1/26 wages in 2 HQs + DA; for construction 
workers, 1/26 of HQ wages + DA. 

Lower $ 15 - 30 447 - 522 11,622 in 2 
quarters 

17,880 

DE MQ  
1/46 of wages earned in highest 2 quarters. 

Lower $ 20 330    7,590 15,180 in 2 
quarters 

DC HQ  
1/26. 

Lower $ 50 359 9,334 14,001 
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS 

Weekly Benefit Amount ($) 
Minimum wages required  

for maximum WBA ($) State Method Of Calculating & 
Formula 

Rounding 
to 

Minimum 1/ Maximum 1/ High quarter Base period  
FL HQ  

1/26 
Lower $ 32 275 7,150 10,725 

GA MQ  
1/46 wages in 2 HQs; computed as 1/23 of HQ 
wages when alternative qualifying wages are used. 

Lower $ 40 300 6,900 
(alternative 
qualification) 

12,000 
(alternative 
qualification) 

HI HQ  
1/21 

Higher $ 5 436 9,156 11,336 

ID HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 51 325 8,450 10,563 

IL MQ  
48% of the claimant's wages in highest 2 quarters 
divided by 26 +DA. 

Higher $ 51-57 336 - 456 9074 18,147 in 2 
quarters 

IN HQ  
5% of the first $2,000 in HQ wage credits and 4 % 
of the remaining HQ wage credits. 

Lower $  50 369 8,733 10,916 

IA HQ  
1/19 (4 or more dependents) - 1/23 (no dependents) 

Lower $ 46 - 56 310 - 381 7,130 8,913 

KS HQ  
4.25% 

Lower $ 89; computed 
annually at 
25% of 
maximum 
WBA. 

359 7978 10,770 

KY AW  
1.3078% BP wages 

Nearest $ 39 365 18,582 27,872 

LA MQ  
1/25 of the average wages in 4 quarters of  BP. 

Lower $ 10 258;  
computed 
annually at 66 
2/3% of state-
wide AWW. 

17,200 25,800 

ME MQ  
1/22 average 2 HQ wages + DA. (see table in law) 

Lower $ 52 - 78 302 - 453 6,644 13,288 in 2 
quarters 

MD HQ  
1/24 + DA. 

Higher $ 25 - 65 310; same 
with or 
without 
dependents. 

7,416 11,160 

MA MQ  
50% of 1/26 2 HQ wages up to 57.5% state AWW 
(1/13 HQ if wages  only in 2 Qs) + DA. 

Lower $ 29 - 43 528 - 778 6,864 13,728 in 2 
quarters 

MI HQ  
4.1% + DA 

Lower $ 81 - 111 362 8,830 13,244 

MN HQ/WW 
The higher of 50% of 1/52 BP wages up to 66-2/3% 
of the state AWW, or 50% of 1/13 HQ up to 45% 
of the state’s AWW.   

Lower $ 38 493 12,818 13,068 

MS HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 30  210 5,460 8,400 

MO HQ  
4.0% 

Lower $ 48 250 6,250 9,375 

MT AW/MQ  
1.0% BP wages or 1.9% of wages in highest 2 
quarters. 

Lower $ 75; computed 
annually at 
15% of 
AWW. 

335  17,632 in 2 
quarters. 

NE HQ 
1/26 

Lower $ 30 288 7,488 8,288 

NV HQ  
1/25 

Lower $ 16 329 8,225 12,338 

NH AW  
1.0% - 1.1%BP wages  (see table in law) 

Nearest $ 32 372  9125 36,500 
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS 

Weekly Benefit Amount ($) 
Minimum wages required  

for maximum WBA ($) State Method Of Calculating & 
Formula 

Rounding 
to 

Minimum 1/ Maximum 1/ High quarter Base period  
NJ WW  

60% (base weeks’ wages/ number of base weeks) + 
DA. 

Lower $ 61-70 503; same 
with or 
without 
dependents. 

  16,767 

NM HQ  
1/26 + DA 

Lower $ 57-73; 
computed 
annually at 
10% of 
AWW. 

300 - 350 7,800  

NY HQ 
1/26; 1/25 if HQW less than $3,575. 

Nearest $ 40 405 10,518 15,777 

NC HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 36 426 11,076 16,614 

ND MQ  
1/65 of (total wages earned in highest 2 quarters 
and ½ of total wages in third highest quarter). 

Lower $ 43 324 14,040 21,060 

OH WW  
50% (wages in qualified weeks in BP / number of 
such weeks) + DA.  

Lower $ 93 331 - 446   13,240 

OK HQ  
1/23 

Lower $ 16 292 6,716 10,074 

OR AW  
1.25% BP wages 

Lower $ 98; computed 
annually at 
15% of 
AWW. 

419  22,347 33,520 

PA HQ  
1/23 - 1/25 + DA (see table in law) 

Lower $ 35 - 43 478 - 486 11,882 19,033 

PR HQ  
1/11 - 1/26 

Lower $ 7 133 3,442 5,320 

RI HQ  
4.62% + DA 

Lower $ 62-112 462 - 577 10,000 15,000 

SC HQ  
1/26   

Lower $ 20 292 7,592 11,388 

SD HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 28 256 6,656 11,776 

TN  
3/ 

MQ  
1/26 of average of 2 HQs (see table in law) 

Lower $ 30 275 7,150 14,300 

TX HQ  
1/25 

Higher $ 54 336 8,376 12,432 

UT HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 24 371 9,646 14,439 

VT MQ  
Wages in the 2 highest quarters divided by 45. 

Nearest $ 42 371 11,190 16,673 in 2 
quarters 

VA MQ  
1/50 2 HQs 

Higher $ 50 326  16,301 in 2 
quarters 

VI HQ  
1/26 

Lower $ 33 387 10,062 15,093 

WA AW  
1% BP wages 

Lower $ 111; 
computed 
annually at 
15% of 
AWW. 

496  49,600 

WV AW  
1% of median wages in worker’s wage class. (see 
table in law) 

Lower $ 24 $366  36,600 

WI HQ  
4.0% 

Lower $ 49; computed 
twice yearly; 
19% of max. 
WBA. 

329 8,225 11,060 
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS 

Weekly Benefit Amount ($) 
Minimum wages required  

for maximum WBA ($) State Method Of Calculating & 
Formula 

Rounding 
to 

Minimum 1/ Maximum 1/ High quarter Base period  
WY HQ  

4.0% 
Lower $ 23  316 7,900 25,500 

KEY:     HQ: High Quarter Formula     MQ: Multi-Quarter Formula     AW: Annual Wage Formula     WW: Average Weekly Wage Formula 
 
GENERAL NOTE:  Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum weekly benefit amount are the same as the wage 
and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table.  (See “Wage and Employment Requirements for Benefits” 
table.) 
 
1/  When 2 amounts are given, higher figure includes dependents allowance.  Higher figure for minimum WBA includes allowance for 1 
dependent child.  Higher figure for maximum WBA includes allowances for maximum number of dependents.   
2/  These amounts are for the low formula only.  High formula does not consider quarterly figures. 

 
 
AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS    
 
In those states where UI is intended to replace a specific percent of wages up to a fixed percent of the state’s average 
weekly wage, the calculation of benefit entitlement is determined by the state’s average weekly wage.  Because wages 
increase, states recalculate the average weekly wage periodically to update the benefits schedule and continue to replace 
the desired percentage of a worker’s lost wages.  The maximum weekly benefit amount is usually more than 50 percent 
of the average weekly wage in covered employment within the state during a recent 1-year period.  In most states, the 
minimum weekly benefit is an amount specified in the law.  However, some states’ laws link the minimum weekly 
benefit amount with their average weekly wage as well.  The following table includes information only for states that 
link the maximum weekly benefit amount with their average weekly wage. 
 
 

TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS  
Method Of Computation  

Annually As % Of AWW In 
Covered Employment In: 

Semiannually As % Of 
AWW In Covered 
Employment In:  

 
% Of State AWW  

 
 
 
 

State Preceding 
CY 

12 
Months 
Ending 

March 31 

12 
Months 
Ending 
June 30 

12 Months 
Ending 6 
Months 
Before 

Effective 
Date 

All 
Industries 
In State 

Maximum 
 

Minimum Effective 
Date Of 

New 
Amounts 

AR X         55 (high formula) 50 (low 
formula) 

July 1 

CO         X 55   July 1 

CT     X     60; based on AWW of production 
and related workers.  May not be 
increased by more than $18 in any 
year. 

  1st Sunday 
in Oct. 

DC   X       50   Jan. 1 

HI     X     70   Jan. 1 

ID X         60   1st Sunday 
in July  

IL X         49.5; for claimants with dependents, 
maximum is limited to 66-2/3% of 
state's AWW, which is based on 
percentage changes from year to 
year.  Maximum for claimants with 
dependents is limited to 65.5% of 
state's AWW.   

  Jan. 1 
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS  
Method Of Computation  

Annually As % Of AWW In 
Covered Employment In: 

Semiannually As % Of 
AWW In Covered 
Employment In:  

 
% Of State AWW  

 
 
 
 

State Preceding 
CY 

12 
Months 
Ending 

March 31 

12 
Months 
Ending 
June 30 

12 Months 
Ending 6 
Months 
Before 

Effective 
Date 

All 
Industries 
In State 

Maximum 
 

Minimum Effective 
Date Of 

New 
Amounts 

IA X         53; for claimants with no 
dependents.  For claimants with 
dependents, ranges from 55 to 65%.   

  1st Sunday 
in July  

KS X             60 25% of 
max WBA

July 1 

KY X             62; cannot increase in any year when 
tax schedule increases from previous 
year.  Year-to-year increases limited 
depending on fund balance.  

  July 1 

LA   X       66-2/3   Sept. 1 

ME X         52   June 1 

MA   X       57.5   1st Sunday 
in Oct. 

MN X         Higher of 50% of the worker’s 
AWW in the BP to a maximum of 
66-2/3% of the state AWW; or 50% 
of the worker’s AWW during the 
HQ to a maximum of 50% of the 
state AWW, or $331, whichever is 
higher. 

  August 1 

MT X         66.5 15 July 1 

NV X         50   July 1 

NJ X         56-2/3   Jan. 1 

NM     X     52.5 10 1st Sunday 
in Jan. 

NC X         66-2/3   August 1 

ND X         62; 65% of state AWW if trust fund 
reserves on Oct. 1 are equal to or 
greater than the required amount and 
the state's average contribution rate 
is below the nationwide average for 
the preceding year. 

  1st Sunday 
in July  

OH     X      Percentage used is not specified by 
law.   1st Sunday 

in Jan. 
OK X         The greater of $197 or 60%, 57.7%, 

55%, 52.5% or 50% of state AWW 
of the second preceding CY, 
depending on the condition of the 
fund. 

  July 1 

OR X            64 15 Week of 
July 4 

PA     X     66-2/3   Jan. 1 

PR X         50   July 1 

RI X         67   July 1 
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS  
Method Of Computation  

Annually As % Of AWW In 
Covered Employment In: 

Semiannually As % Of 
AWW In Covered 
Employment In:  

 
% Of State AWW  

 
 
 
 

State Preceding 
CY 

12 
Months 
Ending 

March 31 

12 
Months 
Ending 
June 30 

12 Months 
Ending 6 
Months 
Before 

Effective 
Date 

All 
Industries 
In State 

Maximum 
 

Minimum Effective 
Date Of 

New 
Amounts 

SC X         66-2/3   July 1 

SD X         50   July 1 

UT     X     62   Jan. 1 

VT X         Percentage not specified by law.   1st Sunday 
in July 

VI     X     50   Jan. 1 

WA X         70 15 1st Sunday 
in July  

WV X         66-2/3   July 1 

WY X         55 4 July 1  

 
 

WAITING PERIOD 
 

 Workers who are otherwise eligible for benefits must first serve a waiting period in most states.  In most states, 
the waiting-period requirement for weeks of partial unemployment is the same as for weeks of total unemployment.   
The waiting period is served in or with respect to a particular benefit year.  Special provisions may exist for successive 
benefit years.  (When a worker, after intervening employment, has an additional spell of unemployment that continues 
beyond the end of the first benefit year, the worker may not have to serve another waiting week if he is monetarily 
eligible for benefits in the second year.)  
 

TABLE 3-7: STATES WITH INITIAL WAITING PERIOD (IN WEEKS) 
State 

 
Total 

 Unemployment   
Partial 

Unemployment   
In New Benefit Year State Total  

Unemployment  
Partial  

Unemployment 
In New 

Benefit Year 
AK 1 1   NM 1 1  
AZ 1 1   NY 1 2   
AR 1 1   NC 1; Waived for 

major industrial 
disasters. 

1   

CA 1; Waiting period may be suspended by 
the Governor if compliance would 
prevent, hinder or delay the mitigation of 
the effects of any state-of-war 
emergency or state of emergency. 

Not to interrupt 
consecutive weeks of 
benefits.  Waiting-period 
must be served if, later in 
the new benefit year, the 
worker, after obtaining 
employment, again 
becomes unemployed. 
May be served in last 
week of old year. 

ND 1 1  
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TABLE 3-7: STATES WITH INITIAL WAITING PERIOD (IN WEEKS) 
State 

 
Total 

 Unemployment   
Partial 

Unemployment   
In New Benefit Year State Total  

Unemployment  
Partial  

Unemployment 
In New 

Benefit Year 
CO 1 1   OH 1; Waived if 

unemployed due 
to major disaster 
declared by the 
President. 

1   

DC 1 1   OK 1 1   
FL 1 1   OR 1 1   
HI 1 1  1 PA 1 1   
ID 1 1   PR 1  1 

IL 1 1 May be served in last 
week of old BY. 

RI 1; Waiting period will be suspended 
if the unemployment is due to a 
natural disaster or state of 
emergency. 

 

IN 1 1   SC 1 1   
KS 1 1 1  SD 1 1 

LA 1 1   TN 1; Becomes compensable after 3 
consecutive weeks of compensable 
unemployment immediately 
following waiting period. 

 

ME 1 1   TX 1; Compensable after receipt of 
benefits equaling 3 x WBA.      

MA 1 1  UT 1; Exempt for one week waiting 
period where the worker is in 
approved mandatory apprenticeship 
related training. 

  

MN 1; Waiting period will not apply if the 
claimant would have been eligible for 
disaster benefits, but for the claimant’s 
establishment of a claim. 

 VA 1; If unemployment caused by 
employer terminating operations, 
closing its business or declaring 
bankruptcy without paying final 
wages earned. 

 

MS 1 1 1 VI 1 1   
MO 1; Becomes compensable in 2008, but 

only when the remaining balance on the 
claim is ≤ compensable amount for the 
waiting week. 
  

 WA  1 1  

MT 1 1 1 WV 1 1   
NE 1 1     

 
 

TABLE 3-8: STATES WITH NO WAITING PERIODS 
Alabama Connecticut Delaware 

Georgia Iowa Kentucky 

Maryland Michigan Nevada 

New Hampshire North Carolina (only for workers 
affected by major industrial disaster) 

Wisconsin 

Vermont Wyoming (for claims filed between July 
2, 2002 and June 30, 2005) 
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BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT 

 
 Often, instead of being laid off, workers may have their hours reduced during an economic downturn.  Or, 
unemployed workers may find short-term work while looking for a permanent, full-time job. These circumstances 
characterize partial unemployment.  The UI system is set up to permit benefit receipt by these workers as long as they 
meet all eligibility requirements.  However, the weekly benefit amount payable differs. 
 
 A week of total unemployment is commonly defined as a week in which the worker performs no work and with 
respect to which remuneration is not payable.  In Puerto Rico, a worker is deemed totally unemployed if earnings from 
self-employment are less than 1-1/2 the weekly benefit amount or if no service is performed for a working period of 32 
hours or more in a week. In a few states, a worker is considered totally unemployed in a week even though certain small 
amounts of wages are earned.  In most states, a worker is partially unemployed in a week of less than full time work and 
earnings of less than the weekly benefit amount.  In some states, a worker is partially unemployed in a week of less than 
full-time work when less than the weekly benefit amount plus an allowance is earned, either from odd-job earnings or 
from any source as indicated in the table below.   
 
 The worker’s UI payment will generally equal the difference between the weekly benefit amount and earnings.  
All states disregard some earnings as an inducement to take short-time work. 
 
 When determining monetary entitlement to benefits, the state usually specifies a maximum dollar amount that 
can be received—usually equal to a specified number of weeks of benefits for total unemployment multiplied by the 
weekly benefit amount for total unemployment.  Consequently, a partially unemployed worker may draw benefits for a 
greater number of weeks than a totally unemployed worker. 
 
 Most state laws provide that the benefit for a week of partial unemployment will be rounded to the nearest or the 
lower dollar.  For example, in a state with a $30 earnings disregard and rounding to the nearest dollar, a worker with a 
$40 weekly benefit amount and earnings of $50.95 would receive a partial benefit of $19.  
 

TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT 
State Definition Of Partial 

Unemployment: Week Of 
Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 

State Definition Of Partial 
Unemployment: Week Of 

Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 
AL WBA $15 NE WBA ½ WBA;  full WBA is paid 

if earnings are less than ½ 
weekly benefit; ½ WBA is 
paid if wages are ½ WBA 
but less than full WBA. 

AK 1-1/3 x WBA + $50 1/4 wages over $50 NV WBA 1/4 wages 

AZ WBA $30 NH WBA 30% of WBA 

AR WBA + 2/5 WBA 40% WBA NJ WBA + greater of $5 or 1/5 
WBA 

1/5 WBA or $5 

CA WBA greater of $25 or 25% of 
wages 

NM WBA 1/5 WBA;  excludes 
payments for jury service. 

CO WBA 1/4 WBA NY Benefits are paid at the rate of 1/4 the WBA for each effective 
day within a week beginning on Monday.  Effective day 
defined as 4th and each subsequent day of total unemployment 
in a week in which claimant earns not more than $300. 

CT 1-1/2 + basic WBA 1/3 wages; includes 
holiday pay in the 
remuneration for 
determining partial 
benefits. 

NC week of less than 3 customary 
scheduled full-time days. 

10% of AWW in HQ 

DE WBA + greater of $10 or 50% 
of WBA 

greater of $10 or 30% 
WBA 

ND WBA 60% WBA 
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TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT 
State Definition Of Partial 

Unemployment: Week Of 
Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 

State Definition Of Partial 
Unemployment: Week Of 

Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 
DC WBA + $20 1/5 wages OH WBA 1/5 WBA 

FL WBA 8 x federal hourly 
minimum wage 

OK WBA + $100 $100 

GA WBA $50; excludes payments for 
jury service. 

OR WBA 1/3 WBA; or 10 x state min. 
wage; excludes wages from 
service in the organized 
militia for training or 
authorized duty from benefit 
computation. 

HI WBA $50 PA WBA +  40% of WBA Greater of $6 or 40% of 
WBA 

ID WBA + ½ WBA ½ WBA PR 1-1/2 x WBA;  week in which 
wages, or remuneration from 
self-employment, are less than 
1-1/2 times claimant's WBA or 
the claimant performs no 
service for a working period of 
32 hours or more in a week. 

WBA 

IL WBA  ½ WBA RI 1/ basic WBA 1/5 WBA 

IN WBA Greater of $3 or 1/5 WBA 
from other than base 
period ERs. 

SC WBA 1/4 WBA 

IA WBA +$15 1/4 WBA SD WBA 1/4 WBA over $25. 

KS WBA 25% WBA TN WBA Greater of $50 or 25% of 
WBA. 

KY 1-1/4 x WBA 1/5 wages TX WBA + greater of $5 or 1/4 
WBA. 

greater of $5 or 1/4 WBA 

LA WBA Lesser of ½ WBA or $50 UT WBA 30% WBA 

ME WBA + $5 $25; excludes wages 
received by members of 
the National Guard and 
organized labor, including 
base pay and allowances or 
any amounts received as a 
volunteer emergency 
medical services worker. 

VT WBA + $15 Greater of $40 or 30% 
WBA 

MD Augmented WBA. $90 VA WBA $25 

MA WBA 1/3 WBA; earnings plus 
WBA may not equal or 
exceed the worker's AWW.

VI 1-1/3 x WBA + $15 25% of wages in excess of 
$15 

MI 1-1/2 x WBA For each $1 earned, WBA 
is reduced by 50 cents.  
However, benefits and 
earnings cannot exceed 1 
½ WBA.  Earnings above 
½ WBA result in dollar-
for-dollar reduction in 
WBA.  If the resulting 
WBA is zero the weeks of 
benefits payable are 
reduced by 1 week.   

WA 1-1/3 x WBA + $5 1/4 wages over $5 
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TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT 
State Definition Of Partial 

Unemployment: Week Of 
Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 

State Definition Of Partial 
Unemployment: Week Of 

Less Than Full-Time Work 
If Earnings Are Less Than: 

Earnings Disregarded In 
Computing Weekly 
Benefit For Partial 

Unemployment 
MN WBA Greater of $50 or 25% of 

wages.  Excludes up to 
$200 in jury pay and wages 
earned for services per-
formed in National Guard 
and military reserve; and 
as a volunteer firefighter or 
in ambulance services.   

WV WBA + $61 $60 

MS WBA $40 WI Any week the worker receives 
any wages.  Also, no worker 
may be eligible for partial 
benefits if the benefit payment 
is less than $5; or if an 
employer paid the worker at 
least 80% of the BP wages or 
the worker worked for the 
Employer at least 35 hours in 
the week at the same or a 
greater rate of pay as the 
worker was paid in the HQ 

$30 plus 33% of wages in 
excess of $30.  Excludes 
wages received as a 
volunteer firefighter or 
voluntary medical 
technician from benefit 
computation. 

MO WBA + $20 $20; excludes wages from 
service in the organized 
militia for training or 
authorized duty from 
benefit computation. 

WY Basic WBA Wages in excess of 50% of 
WBA 

MT 2 x WBA ½ wages over 1/4 WBA  
1/   Has special provision for totally unemployed workers who have days of employment between the end of the waiting period and the 
beginning of the first compensable week, and also for those who return to work prior to the end of a compensable week, provided they have been 
in receipt of benefits for at least 2 successive weeks of total unemployment.  For each day of unemployment in such week in which work is 
ordinarily performed in the worker's occupation, one-fifth of the weekly benefit is paid, up to four-fifths of the weekly rate. 

 
 
 

DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES 
 
 Although wages earned during the base period is the primary factor in determining the size of the payment a 
claimant receives each week, some states’ laws provide for a dependents allowance above and beyond the basic benefit 
amount payable.  The definition of dependent, for UI purposes, varies from state to state as does the allowance granted.  
In general, a dependent must be wholly or mainly supported by the worker or living with or receiving regular support 
from the worker. 
 
DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT—All states with dependents allowances include children under a specified age.  The 
intent is to include all children whom the worker is morally obligated to support.  In most of these states, allowances 
may be paid on behalf of older children who are unable to work because of physical or mental disability.  In some states, 
children are not the only dependents recognized - spouses, parents, or siblings are also included in the definition.  The 
following table outlines, for the states that have dependents allowances, their definition of a dependent. 
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TABLE 3-10: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT 
 Nonworking Dependent 

State Dependent Child Under 18 Unless 
Otherwise Noted    1/ 

Older 
Child Not 
Able To 
Work  1/ 

Spouse 
Parent 

1/ 
 

Brother 
Or 

Sister 

 
Number 
Of Dep-
endents 

Fixed For 
BY 

 
Max. No. 

Of De- 
pendents 

AK Child must be unmarried; must have 
received more than half the cost of 
support from claimant or be lawfully in 
the worker's custody at the time the 
worker claims the allowance. 

X          3 

CT 21 if child is fulltime student X X       5 

IL  X Spouse must be 
currently ineligible for 
benefits in the State 
because of insufficient 
BP wages. 

      2 

IA  X No dependency 
allowance paid for any 
week in which spouse 
earns more than $120 in 
gross wages. 

X X X 4 

ME  X No dependency 
allowance paid for any 
week in which spouse is 
employed full time and 
is contributing to 
support of dependents. 

      >5 

MD 16          X 5 

MA 
2/ 

Child must be unmarried and by 
interpretation; 24 if child is fulltime 
student. 

X        X >5 

MI Must have received more than half the 
cost of support from claimant for at least 
90 consecutive days or for the duration of 
the parental relationship. 

X X Parents over age 65 
or permanently 
disabled for gainful 
employment, brother 
or sister under 18, 
orphaned or whose 
living parents are 
dependents. 

X >5 

NJ 19; child must be unmarried; 22 if child is 
fulltime student. 

X X     X 3 

NM Child must also be unemancipated.  Child 
may be in legal custody of claimant 
pending adoption.  Court requires 
claimant to contribute to child’s support 
and no one else is receiving benefits for 
that child. 

      

OH  X May not be claimed as 
dependent if average 
weekly income is in 
excess of 25% of the 
claimant's AWW. 

    X 3 

PA  X X     X 2 

RI  X       X 5 

1/  Includes stepchild by statute in all states except ME and MA; adopted child by statute, AK, IL, IN, ME, MD., MI, NJ, OH, RI; and by 
interpretation, MA; legal guardian, MA, and RI; full-time student, CT, ME, MI, MA, and NJ.  Legal parent, MI. 
2/   Only dependents residing within the U.S., its Territories and possessions. 

 
 



MONETARY ENTITLEMENT 
 

3-20 

AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES—As with the definition of dependents, there is much 
variation among states concerning the amount of weekly dependents allowance payable.  However, there are some 
commonalities.  For example, the allowance is ordinarily a fixed sum. In addition, all states have a limit on the total 
amount of dependents allowance payable in any week - in terms of dollar amount, number of dependents, percentage of 
basic benefits, or of high-quarter wages or of average weekly wage.  This limitation results in reductions, for some 
workers, in the actual allowance per dependent or the maximum number of dependents on whose behalf allowances may 
be paid. In almost all states, the number of dependents is fixed for the benefit year when the monetary determination on 
the claim is made.  Likewise, in virtually all states, only one parent may draw allowances if both are receiving benefits 
simultaneously.  Workers who are eligible for partial benefits may draw dependents allowances in addition to their basic 
benefits in most of the states providing for these allowances. They receive the full allowance for a week of partial 
unemployment.  Consequently, the allowance for dependents may be greater than the basic benefit for partial 
unemployment.  Alaska and Connecticut permit the dependents allowances to be adjusted during the benefit year if a 
worker acquires additional dependents. 
 

TABLE 3-11: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES 
State Weekly 

Allowance Per  
Dependent 

Weekly 
Dependents Allowances 

Capped At: 

Maximum 
 Dependents Allowance For 
Minimum Weekly Benefit  

Maximum 
 Dependents Allowance For  
Maximum Weekly Benefit 

AK $24 $72 $72 $72 

CT $15 Lesser of WBA and $75. $15 $75 

IL $3-$120 $6-$120 $6  $120 

IA $2-$29 Schedule $2-$71 $10 $71 

ME $10 ½ WBA $26 $151 

MD $8 $40 $40  $0; same maximum WBA with or without 
dependents. 

MA $25 ½ WBA $14 $250 

MI $6 $30 $30 $0; same maximum WBA with or without 
dependents. 

NJ $4-$33 7% of WBA for 1st dependent 
and 4% for each of the next two 
dependents. 

$9 $0; same maximum WBA with or without 
dependents. 

NM $15 ½ WBA up to $60. $15 $60 

OH $1-$115 Determined by schedule 
according to the AWW and 
dependency class. 

$0 $115 

PA $5; $3 for one 
other dependent. 

$8  $8 $8 

RI The greater of $10 or 5% WBA per dependent, up to 
5 dependents. 

$50 $115 

NOTE: Full dependents allowance given for weeks of partial benefits in all states with the following exceptions: MD - Not more than 26 DA 
payments for dep. may be made in any one BY; MI – No, dependents allowance considered a part of WBA; PA - Not more than 26 DA payments 
may be made in any one BY.   (Workers are partially unemployed if they earn less than the unadjusted weekly benefit amount.) 
 

  
DURATION OF BENEFITS 

 
 When states compute a worker’s monetary eligibility for benefits, in addition to calculating the weekly benefit 
amount, they determine the duration of benefits—how long benefits can be collected.  The duration is usually measured 
as a number of weeks of total unemployment.  Maximum weeks of benefits vary from 26 to 30 weeks, most frequently 
26 weeks.  A few states’ laws establish uniform durations of 26 weeks for all workers who meet the qualifying-wage 
requirements, whereas the rest of the states have variable durations.  Uniform duration states are not necessarily “more 
generous” than the other states because many of these states have comparatively high minimum wage thresholds to 
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qualify for all but the lowest benefit levels.  Similarly, whether directly or indirectly, all uniform duration states require 
employment in more than one quarter for all - or most - workers to qualify for benefits.   
 

In variable duration states, duration is derived.  First, the state determines the limit on total benefits receivable in 
a benefit year (the maximum entitlement).  In most of these states, a worker's benefits are limited to a fraction or percent 
of base-period wages if it produces an amount less than the specified multiple (usually 26-30) of the worker's weekly 
benefit amount.  The rest of the variable duration states - states using an average-weekly-wage method - set maximum 
potential benefits as a fraction of weeks worked during the base period.  Once the state calculates the maximum 
entitlement, it divides that amount by the weekly benefit amount to derive the duration.  Some states’ laws specify both 
the minimum and maximum duration, in weeks, along with the method of calculating benefit entitlement.  Since, in all 
of these states, the maximum potential benefit may be used in weeks of total or partial unemployment, workers can 
collect benefits longer than their stated duration (until they have collected their maximum entitlement). 
 

Depending on the distribution of wages in the base period, workers with the same total base period wages can 
have different durations and different weekly benefit amounts. For example, workers whose wages are concentrated 
largely or wholly in the high quarter will have a higher weekly benefit amount but a shorter duration. 
 

In most states with variable duration, workers at all benefit levels are subject to the same minimum and 
maximum weeks of duration. 
 
 A few states include a limitation on wage credits in computing duration.  For example, in Colorado, only wages 
up to 26 times the current maximum weekly amount per quarter count.  This type of provision tends to reduce weeks of 
benefits for workers at the higher benefit levels. 
 

This section deals only with the regular UI program.  Extensions are addressed in the following chapter.   
 

The following table describes how each variable duration state calculates the duration of benefits a worker is 
eligible to receive, and, for all states, the minimum and maximum potential benefits, duration, and wage credits needed 
to qualify for the maximum duration of the maximum weekly benefit amount. 
 

TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/ 
Maximum Potential Benefits 

Wage credits required  State Formula for Calculating Benefit 
Entitlement 

Minimum 
Potential 
Benefits: 

Amount ($) 
Amounts ($) 2/ High quarter ($) Base period ($) 

Duration 
(Weeks) 

AL Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 704 5,720 5,257  17,160 15 – 26 

AK Ratio of annual wages to HQW—from 
less than 1.50 to 3.5 or more. 

704 6,448 - 8,320 Annual-wage 
formula; no required 
amount of wages in 
HQ. 

26,500 16 – 26    

AZ Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 750 6,240 6,000 18,720 12 – 26 

AR Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 585 8,970 8,970 26,,910 9 – 26 

CA Lesser of 26 x WBA and ½ BPW. 562    11,700     11,675 23,400 14 – 26 

CO Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 wage credits 
in BP.   

325 10,582 N/A: highest quarter 
does not apply to the 
formula that yields 
the maximum 
potential benefits. 

42,328 13 – 26 

CT N/A: Uniform duration state. 390    11,622 – 13,572 11,622 17,880 26 
uniform   

DE Lesser of 26 x WBA and ½ BPW. 480 8,580   17,160 24 – 26 

DC Lesser of 26 x WBA and 50% BPW. 975 9,334 9,334 18,668 19 – 26 
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TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/ 
Maximum Potential Benefits 

Wage credits required  State Formula for Calculating Benefit 
Entitlement 

Minimum 
Potential 
Benefits: 

Amount ($) 
Amounts ($) 2/ High quarter ($) Base period ($) 

Duration 
(Weeks) 

FL 25% BPW up to $7150. 850 7,150 7,150 28,600 9 – 26 
GA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 400 7,800 6,900 31,200 9 – 26 

HI N/A: Uniform duration state. 130    11,336 9,156 11,336 26 
uniform    

ID Ratio of BPW to HQW--from 1.25 to 
3.25. 

510 8,450 8,450 27,463 10 – 26 

IL N/A: Uniform duration state. 
(Claimants are eligible for the lesser of 26 
weeks of benefits or their total BP 
wages.) 

1,326 8,736 - 11,856 9,074 18,147 26 
uniform 

IN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 28% of BP 
wage credits; only specified amount of 
wages per quarter may be used for 
computing duration of benefits: $8,733. 

400 9,594 8,733 34,265 8 – 26 

IA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW.;  If 
laid off due to employer going out of 
business, ½ of wages in BP up to 39 
weeks. 

441 8,060 – 9,906 7,130 24,180 9 – 26 

KS Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 890 9,334 7,978 28,002 10 – 26 

KY Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 585 9,490 18,980 28,470 15 – 26 

LA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 27% BPW. 210 6,708 16,563 24,844 21 – 26 

ME Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 728 7,852 - 11,778 6644 in each of 2 Qs 23,556 14 – 26 

MD N/A: Uniform duration state. 650 8,060; same 
maximum with or 
without deps. 

7,416 11,160 26 
uniform 

MA Lesser of 30 x WBA and 36% BPW.  
(Reduced to 26 x WBA if average local 
unemployment rate ≤ 5.1%.) 

1080 15,840 - 23,340 11,000 44,000 10 – 30 

MI 43% BPW. 1,274 9,412; same 
maximum with or 
without deps. 

$14,593 21,889 14 – 26 

MN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 416 12,818 12,818 38,454 10 – 26 

MS Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 400 5,460 5,460 16,380 13 – 26 

MO Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 600 6,500 6,250 19,500 12 – 26 

MT Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.0 to 3.50 
or greater (See schedule in law.) 

600 9,380 Annual-wage 
formula; no required 
amount of wages in 
HQ. 

33,500 8 – 28 3/   

NE Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 534 7,488 7,488 22,464 17 – 26 

NV Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 200 8,554 8,225 25,662 12 – 26 

NH N/A: Uniform duration state. 832 9,672 9,125 36,500 26 
uniform 

NJ Lesser of 26 x WBA and (¾ weeks 
worked in BP x WBA).  

915 13,078; same 
maximum with or 
without deps. 

 29,343 1 – 26 

NM Lesser of 26 x WBA and 60% BPW. 889 7,800 – 9,100 7,800 13,000 15 – 26 

NY N/A: Uniform duration state. 1,040 10,530 10,518  15,777 26 
uniform 
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TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/ 
Maximum Potential Benefits 

Wage credits required  State Formula for Calculating Benefit 
Entitlement 

Minimum 
Potential 
Benefits: 

Amount ($) 
Amounts ($) 2/ High quarter ($) Base period ($) 

Duration 
(Weeks) 

NC (BPW / HQW) x 8-2/3. 468 11,076 11,076 33,228 13 – 26 

ND Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.5 to 3.2. 516 8,424 14,040 44,928 12 – 26 

OH Lesser of 26 x WBA and 20 x WBA+ 
WBA for each credit week in excess of 
20.  
(Credit week = week with wages of at 
least 37 x minimum wage.) 

1,860 8,606 - 11,596  17,212 in 26 weeks 20 – 26 

OK Lesser of 26 x WBA and 50% BPW. 352 7,592 6,616 15,184 22 – 26   

OR Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 294  10,894 22,347 33,520 3 – 26 

PA A worker with at least 18 credit weeks is 
eligible for 26 weeks; with at least 16 
credit weeks, 16 weeks.  A credit week is 
one in which claimant earned at least $50. 

560 12,428 - 12,636 11,882 19,033 16 – 26 

PR N/A: Uniform duration state. 182    3,458 3,442 5,320 26 
uniform    

RI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 36% BPW. 725 12,012 - 15,002 10,000 33,367 8 – 26 

SC Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 300 7,592 7,592 22,776 15 – 26 

SD Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 429 6,656 6,656 19,968 15 – 26 

TN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 390 7,150 7,150 28,600 13 – 26 

TX Lesser of 26 x WBA and 27% BPW. 539 8,736 8,376 32,356  9 – 26 

UT 27% BPW. 240 9,646 9,646 35,726 10 – 26 

VT N/A: Uniform duration state.  1,092   9,646 11,910 16,673 26 
uniform 

VA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 625 8,476  32,601 12 – 26 

VI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 429 10,062 20,124 30,186 13 – 26 

WA Lesser of 30 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 1,332 14,880  49,600 12 – 30  4/

WV N/A: Uniform duration state. 624 9,516  36,600 26 
uniform 

WI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 40% BPW. 588 8,554 8,225 21,385 12 – 26 

WY Lesser of 26 x WBA and 30% BPW. 253 8,216 7,900 27,387 11 – 26 

GENERAL NOTES:  Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum duration of the minimum weekly benefit amount are the 
same as the wage and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table.  (See “Wage and Employment Requirements 
for Benefits” table.)  Some states will extend duration under certain circumstances.  See chapter 4 for additional information. 
 
1/   In states with weighted tables percent of benefits figures at bottom of lowest end of highest wage brackets; in states noted, percentage at other brackets 
are higher and/or lower than percentage shown.  
2/   When 2 amounts are given, higher includes dependents. 
3/   In MT, in order to qualify for 28 weeks, individual’s ratio of total base period wages to HQ wages must be at least 3.5. 
4/   In WA, drops to the lesser of 26 weeks or 1/3 base period wages if the state unemployment rate falls to 6.8% or below. 
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SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT AND BENEFITS 
 
 Special provisions are found in several states’ laws restricting the payment of benefits to workers who earned 
some or a substantial part of their base-period wages for employers’ whose operations take place only during certain 
seasons of the year. 
 
 In these provisions, the term seasonal is defined - either in the statute or in the rules or regulations implementing 
the statute - in terms of: 
 
• the industry, employer, or occupation involved;  
 
• the wages earned during the operating period of the employer or industry; and  
 
• the worker. 
 
 In most states, the designation of seasonal industries, occupations, or employers and the beginning and ending 
dates of their seasons is made in accordance with a formal procedure, following action initiated by the UI agency or 
upon application by the employers or workers involving hearings and presentation of supporting data.  Arkansas law 
provides that any employer classified as a seasonal employer may request not to be treated as a seasonal employer.  
 
 In other states a seasonal pursuit, industry, or employer is defined in such terms as one in which, because of 
climatic conditions or the seasonal nature of the employment, it is customary to operate only during a regularly recurring 
period or periods of less than (a specified number of weeks): 16 weeks in Massachusetts; 26 weeks in Colorado; 26 
weeks in Indiana; 26 weeks in Maine (except for seasonal lodging facilities, variety store or trading post, restaurants and 
camps, where a period of less than 26 weeks applies); 26 weeks in Michigan, 26 weeks in Ohio; and 36 weeks in North 
Carolina. 
 
 In general, the restrictions on the payment of benefits to workers employed during the operating periods of these 
seasonal industries fall into one of four groups. 
 
 1.  The most frequent restriction provides that wage credits earned in seasonal employment are available for 
payment of benefits only for weeks of unemployment in the benefit year that fall within the operating period of the 
employer or industry where they were earned: wage credits earned in non-seasonal work or in employment with a 
seasonal employer outside the operating period are available for payment of benefits at any time in the benefit year.  The 
states with this type of provision are listed below, together with the definitions of “seasonal worker” to whom the 
restrictions apply: 
 

TABLE 3-13: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON 
AR Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times 

the weekly benefit amount, if worker's   
seasonal wages were earned in an industry 
with an operating period of 2-6 months; or 
(b) less than 24 times the weekly benefit 
amount, if seasonal wages were earned in 
an industry with operating period of 7-8 
months. 

ME Some seasonal wages in operating period of 
seasonal employer. 

NC 25 percent or more of 
base-period wages earned 
in operating period of 
seasonal employer. 

AZ For employment in transient lodging only, 
no benefits based on seasonal wages 
during the off-season if unemployment is 
due to substantial slowdown in operations. 

MA Some seasonal wages in operating period of 
seasonal industry. 

OH Some seasonal wages 
earned in operating 
period of seasonal 
employer. 
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TABLE 3-13: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON 
CO Some seasonal wages in operating period 

of seasonal industry.  
MI Wages must be within seasonal period of 26 

weeks or less.  Designation of employment as 
seasonal is voluntary. 

PA Seasonal wages for less 
than 180 days of work in 
operating period.  
Applies only if 
reasonable assurance of 
reemployment exists. 

IN Some seasonal wages in operating period 
of seasonal employer. 

MS Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times 
the weekly benefit amount, if worker's 
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton 
ginning industry or professional baseball with 
an operating period of 6-26 weeks; or (b) less 
than 24 times the weekly benefit amount, if 
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton 
ginning industry or professional baseball with 
operating period of 27-36 weeks. 

SD Some wages earned in 
operating period of 
seasonal employer. 

 
 2.  Other states have established differing seasonal provisions, which are listed below.   
 

TABLE 3-14: OTHER SEASONAL PROVISIONS 
DE Individual with 75% or more of base period earnings in seasonal employment – defined as the processing of agricultural or seafood 

products - will be eligible only if the individual had been employed in the corresponding month of the base period. 

MN Individual may use seasonal wage credits – defined as employment with a single employer in the recreation or tourist industry that is 
available for 15 consecutive weeks or less each calendar year – only if individual is able to establish a benefit year without using such 
seasonal wages.  Seasonal wage credits may not be used to establish eligibility outside the normal employment season.   

WV Individual working less than 100 days in seasonal employment is not eligible unless the individual has non-seasonal employment of at 
least $100. 

WI Individual working less than 90 days for a seasonal employer is not eligible unless the individual is paid wages of $500 or more by at 
least one other employer. 

       
    

DEDUCTIONS AND WITHHOLDING FROM BENEFITS 
 
 Under federal law, UI must be paid to a worker as a matter of right and may not be intercepted to satisfy debts or 
other obligations.  However, federal law provides some exceptions to this requirement and these are discussed below.  
 
OVERPAYMENTS—All states reduce UI otherwise payable to recover earlier overpayments of UI.  See the 
Overpayments chapter for more information on this topic. 
 
CHILD SUPPORT—Federal law requires states to deduct child support obligations from UI only when the obligations 
are enforced by the state child support agency. 
 
OVERISSUANCES OF FOOD STAMPS—If the worker owes an uncollected over-issuance of Food Stamps, states 
may deduct such amount from UI benefits payable.  The table below indicates which state laws provide for these 
deductions.  However, all of these states do not necessarily make these deductions; it depends on whether the state UI 
and Food Stamp agencies have entered into agreements. 
 

TABLE 3-15: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVER-ISSUANCES 
State  State  State  State  State  State  State  State  
AL  X DE  X IN   MA  X NV  OH  SC  VI  X 

AK  DC   IA  X MI  NH X OK X SD X VA X 

AZ  X FL   KS X MN  NJ  X OR  TN X WA  
AR  X GA  X KY   MS  NM X PA  TX X WV X 
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TABLE 3-15: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVER-ISSUANCES 
CA   HI  X LA X MO X NY  X PR  UT X WI  
CO X ID   ME  X MT X NC   RI   VT X WY X 

CT   IL  X MD   NE  X ND   
 
 
INCOME TAX—Federal law requires states to offer workers the opportunity to have income tax withheld from UI 
benefits at the rate of 10 percent.  Federal law also permits states to withhold state and local income tax from UI 
benefits.  The following table indicates which states offer workers the opportunity to have state (and/or local) income 
taxes withheld. 

 

TABLE 3-16: WITHHOLDING STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX AT CLAIMANT OPTION 
State State Local State State Local State State Local State State Local State State Local 
AL    HI  X 1/ MI  2/  NC  X  TN X X 

AK NA  ID  X  MN X  ND X  TX NA  
AZ  X  IL X X MS X X OH   UT X X 

AR    IN  X  MO X X OK 2/  VT 2/  
CA    IA  X  MT   OR X  VI    
CO X  KS X X NE X  PA   VA   
CT  X X KY  X  NV NA  PR   WA NA  
DE  X X LA   NH X X RI  X  WV   
DC  X X ME  X X NJ    SC X  WI X  
FL  NA  MD  X  NM X X SD NA  WY NA  
GA  X  MA  X  NY  X X  
NA:  No state income tax. 
1/   Local income taxes deducted and withheld from the worker's UI for other states and localities. 
2/   If federal taxes are elected to be withheld from UI benefits then state taxes will be withheld as well. 

HEALTHCARE COVERAGE—Illinois and Oklahoma law authorize the deduction of health insurance premiums 
deducted from the UI weekly benefit amount if the worker so elects, provided that the state has an approved health care 
plan for unemployed workers.  However, neither state has implemented this authority.  Massachusetts has a health 
insurance program for unemployed workers; however, it is unrelated to the UI program.   


