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ALABAMA SB 48 ENACTED April 10, 2014
(Act No. 436) EFFECTIVE July 1, 2014

Financing

Adds the following to the definition of “employer”: (i) any employing unit (whether or not an
employing unit at the time of acquisition) which acquired at least 65 percent of the organization,
trade, employees, or business located in Alabama, or substantially all the assets thereof, of
another employing unit which at the time of such acquisition was an employer subject to the
unemployment compensation law; and (ii) any employing unit which acquires at least 65 percent
of the organization, trade, employees, or business located in Alabama, or substantially all of the
assets thereof, of another employing unit (not an employer subject to the unemployment
compensation law) and which the employment record of such employment unit subsequent to
such acquisition, together with the employment record of the acquired unit prior to such
acquisition, both within the same calendar year, would be sufficient to constitute an employing
unit an employer subject to the unemployment compensation law.

KANSAS  SB371 ENACTED April 1, 2014
(CH 9) EFFECTIVE July 1, 2014

Administration

Allows the Secretary of the Kansas Department of Labor to publish or otherwise disclose appeals
records and decisions, and precedential determinations on coverage of employers, employment,
and wages, provided all Social Security numbers have been removed.

Allows disclosure of any information obtained under the employment security law, including
hearing transcripts, for use as evidence in a criminal investigation, or in open court in a criminal
prosecution, or at an appeal hearing under the employment security law.

Allows disclosure of any information obtained under the employment security law, including
hearing transcripts, to an agent or contractor of a public official to whom disclosure is
permissible under the employment security law, except that any party receiving such information
shall be prohibited from further disclosure and shall be subject to the same duty of
confidentiality otherwise imposed and shall be subject to the penalties imposed for violations of
such duty of confidentiality.



Financing

Provides that the additional penalty equal to 25 percent of the amount of benefits unlawfully
received by an individual who knowingly made a false statement or representation or who
knowingly failed to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase benefits shall be deposited into
the State’s employment security trust fund.

KANSAS SB 372 ENACTED April 10, 2014

(CH 39) EFFECTIVE July 1, 2014

Extensions and Special Programs

Amends the shared work unemployment compensation program by providing that the secretary
may approve, among other things, a shared work plan if:

the shared work plan reduces the normal weekly hours of work for an employee,
including regular part-time employees, in the affected unit by not less than 20 percent and
not more than 40 percent;

the shared work plan describes the manner in which the participating employer treats the
fringe benefits of each employee in the affected unit, and the employer certifies that if the
employer provides health benefits and retirement benefits under a defined benefit plan, as
defined in 26 U.S.C. Section 414¢(j), or contributions under a defined contribution plan, as
defined in 26 U.S.C. Section 414(i), to any employee whose workweek is reduced under
the program that such benefits will continue to be provided to employees participating in
the shared work compensation program under the same terms and conditions as though
the workweek of such employee had not been reduced or to the same extent as other
employees not participating in the shared work program;

the employer certifies that the implementation of a shared work plan and the resulting
reduction in work hours is in lieu of layoffs (previously, temporary layoffs) that would
affect at least 10 percent of the employees in the affected unit and that would result in an
equivalent reduction in work hours;

the plan provides that eligible employees may participate, as appropriate, in training
including, without limitation, employer-sponsored training or worker training funded
under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, to enhance job skills if such program has
been approved by the state of Kansas;

the employer includes a plan for giving advance notice, where feasible, to an employee
whose workweek is to be reduced together with an estimate of the number of layoffs that
would have occurred absent the ability to participate in shared work compensation and
such other information as the secretary of labor determines is appropriate; and

the terms of the employer’s written plan and implementation are consistent with
employer obligations under applicable federal and Kansas laws.

Deletes the provision that a shared work plan may not be implemented to subsidize employers
who have traditionally used part-time employees.



Deletes the provision that the secretary may not pay an individual shared work benefits for any
week in which the individual performs paid work for the participating employer in excess of the
reduced hours established under the shared work plan.

MASSACHUSETTS HB 4036 ENACTED April 14, 2014
(CHT1) EFFECTIVE January 1, 2014
Financing

Provides that, for calendar year 2014, column E of the Experience Rate Table will be used to
assign unemployment insurance contribution rates. Under column E, the fund balance must be
0.8 or more but less than 1.1 percent of taxable payrolls. For negative balance employers the
minimum rate is 7.24 percent, and the maximum rate is 12.27 percent. For positive balance
employers the minimum rate is 1.26 percent, and the maximum rate is 6.14 percent.

MISSOURI Rule 21246 2013 ADOPTED March 3, 2014
(8 CSR 10-3.085) EFFECTIVE April 30, 2014
Financing

Requires reimbursable employers to reimburse the unemployment trust fund for all
unemployment benefits paid to a claimant who was discharged by the employer for a reason set
forth in Subsection 13 of Section 660.315, RSMo (previously, to a claimant who was placed on a
disqualification list maintained by the Department of Health and Senior Services); or to a
claimant who was placed on a disqualification registry maintained by the Department of Mental
Health.

NEW JERSEY AB 3812 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE January 17, 2014
(CH 271)

Administration

Requires the State registrar to facilitate the electronic notification, upon completion of the death
record and issuance of a burial permit, of the decedent’s name, Social Security number, and last
known address to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development and the Department of
Human Services to safeguard public benefit programs and diminish the criminal use of a
decedent’s name and other identifying information.

Requires the Department of Labor and Workforce Development to arrange for the electronic
receipt of death record notifications from the New Jersey Electronic Death Registration System,
and establish a verification system to confirm that benefits paid pursuant to the Temporary
Disability Benefits Law and the unemployment compensation law are not being paid to deceased
individuals.

Requires the Commissioner, as Administrator and Chief Executive Officer of the Department of
Corrections, to compile and provide to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development
and the Department of Human Services identifying information on each inmate incarcerated in



each State institution at the time of incarceration. The information shall be transmitted
electronically in a timely manner and shall provide identifying characteristics, including name
and Social Security number, to be used by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development
and the Department of Human Services to verify individuals’ eligibility for benefit programs
administered by each Department.

Requires the Department of Labor and Workforce Development to arrange for the electronic
receipt of identifying information from the Department of Corrections and from the
Administrative Office of the Courts, and any county which does not provide county inmate
incarceration information to the Administrative Office of the Courts, and establish a verification
system to confirm that benefits paid pursuant to the unemployment compensation law are not
being paid to individuals who are incarcerated.

Requires the Administrative Office of the Courts to compile and provide to the Department of
Labor and Workforce Development and the Department of Human Services identifying
information on each inmate incarcerated in each county and local institution in each county
which provides inmate incarceration information to the Administrative Office of the Courts, and
any county which does not provide that information to the Administrative Office of the Courts
shall provide the information to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development and the
Department of Human Services. The information shall be transmitted electronically in a timely
manner and shall provide identifying characteristics, including name and Social Security
number, to be used by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development and the
Department of Human Services to verify individuals’ eligibility for benefit programs
administered by each Department.

OREGON  HB 4010 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 6, 2014
(CH 26)

Administration

Permits the Employment Department to make public all decisions of the Employment Appeals
Board.

UTAH HB 22 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 1, 2014
(CH 289)
Financing

Deletes the provision that benefit costs will not be charged to employers if they are attributable
to wages used in a previous benefit year that are available for a second benefit year under
Subsection 35A-4-401(2) because of a change in method of computing base periods, overlapping
base periods, or for other reasons required by law.

VIRGINIA HB 22 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 7, 2014
(CH 191)

Financing



Changes (under the benefit ratio provisions) the definition of “payroll” from meaning the taxable
payroll on which taxes have been paid on or before September 30 immediately following

such June 30 to meaning the greater of (i) the taxable payroll on which taxes have been paid on
or before September 30 immediately following such June 30, or (ii) $1.

VIRGINIA SB 18 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 31, 2014
(CH 442)
Financing

Provides that no benefit charges shall be deemed the responsibility of an employer of an
individual who leaves employment to accompany his spouse to the location of the spouse’s new
duty assignment if (i) the spouse is on active duty in the military or naval services of the United
States; (ii) the spouse’s relocation to a new military-related assignment is pursuant to a
permanent change of station order; (iii) the location of the spouse’s new duty assignment is not
readily accessible from the individual’s place of employment; and (iv) the spouse’s new duty
assignment is located in a state that, pursuant to statute, does not deem a person accompanying a
military spouse as a person leaving work voluntarily without good cause.

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that an individual shall be disqualified for benefits upon separation from the last
employing unit for whom he has worked 30 days or 240 hours or from any subsequent
employing unit if the Commission finds such individual is unemployed because he left work
voluntarily without good cause. “Good cause” shall not include voluntarily leaving work with an
employer to accompany or to join his or her spouse in a new locality, except where an individual
leaves employment to accompany a spouse to the location of the spouse’s new duty assignment
if (1) the spouse is on active duty in the military or naval services of the United States; (2) the
spouse’s relocation to a new military-related assignment is pursuant to a permanent change of
station order; (3) the location of the spouse’s new duty assignment is not readily accessible from
the individual’s place of employment; and (4) except for members of the Virginia National
Guard relocating to a new assignment within the Commonwealth, the spouse’s new duty
assignment is located in a state that, pursuant to statute, does not deem a person accompanying a
military spouse as a person leaving work voluntarily without good cause.

WASHINGTON  Rule 33539 2013 ADOPTED March 14, 2014
(WAC 192-250-035) EFFECTIVE April 17, 2014

Extensions and Special Programs

Provides that, to participate in the shared-work program, a claimant must work between 50
(previously 10) percent and 90 (previously, 50) percent of his/her usual weekly hours to receive
shared benefits. In any week he/she works less than or more than that amount, the claim will be
processed as a regular unemployment claim.

WYOMING SB 74 ENACTED March 10, 2014



(CH 107) EFFECTIVE July 1, 2014

Coverage
Excludes from the definition of employment service performed by a person acting as a fiduciary,

and receiving reasonable compensation for fiduciary services pursuant to the Uniform Trust
Code or the Wyoming Probate Code.

WYOMING SB 76 ENACTED March 10, 2014
(CH 101) EFFECTIVE July 1, 2014

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Defines “misconduct connected with work” to mean an act of an employee that indicates an
intentional disregard of the employer’s interests or the commonly accepted duties, obligations,
and responsibilities of an employee. “Misconduct connected with work” does not include: (a)
ordinary negligence in isolated instances; (b) good faith errors in judgment or discretion; and (c)
inefficiency or failure in good performance as the result of inability or incapacity.



