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ARIZONA HB 2619   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 25, 2011 
  (CH 218)    
    
Financing 
 
Requires each employer to pay a special assessment in 2011 and 2012 at a rate determined by the 
Director, Arizona Department of Economic Security (Department).  Provides that for calendar 
year 2011 the determined rate shall not exceed 0.4 percent of the taxable wages paid for the tax 
year and, for calendar year 2012, shall not exceed 0.6 percent of the taxable wages paid for the 
tax year.  Waives the assessment for the quarter if the amount of an employer’s assessment in 
any one quarter is less than $10.  
 
Provides that the special assessment will be reported and collected in accordance with the 
unemployment insurance law and payable on or before the date the quarterly contribution and 
wage reports are due, except that the assessment for taxable wages paid for the first 3 calendar 
quarters of tax year 2011 is payable with the employer’s quarterly state unemployment insurance 
contributions on or before October 31, 2011.  The assessment for all other calendar quarters in 
tax years 2011 and 2012 is payable with the employer’s quarterly state unemployment insurance 
contributions. 
 
Establishes an unemployment special assessment fund which consists of the monies collected 
from the special assessment.  Provides that notwithstanding any other law, if the state has an 
outstanding loan to pay unemployment insurance benefits, fund monies will be used to pay the 
costs of the loan as follows: 
 
 Fund monies shall first be used to pay interest charges incurred on the loan.  If the state is 

granted a waiver of interest charges in either 2011 or 2012, the amount of the assessment will 
be reduced by 0.1 percent in each calendar year in which the interest charge is waived. 

 Fund monies shall then be used to retire the loan principal on or before November 10, 2012. 
  
Provides that if the Department determines that the fund monies will not be sufficient to pay the 
interest charges and retire the principal on or before November 10, 2012, the Department may 
increase the assessment for 2012 at a rate determined by the Director which shall not exceed 0.2 
percent of the taxable wages paid for the tax year. 
                    
Requires any monies remaining in the fund after payment of all principal and interest on the loan 
to be transferred to the unemployment compensation fund. 



 
Repeals the special assessment provisions on December 31, 2012. 
 
ARKANSAS  SB 305     ENACTED April 4, 2011 
  (Act No. 1125)      EFFECTIVE April 4, 2011, 

or as noted 
 
Financing 
 
Creates the Unemployment Trust Fund Financing Act of 2011 (the Bond Act). 

Authorizes the Arkansas Development Finance Authority, subject to the approval of the voters in 
a statewide election, to issue Arkansas Unemployment Trust Fund Bonds in the amount of 
$500,000,000, repaid/payable from revenues raised by an unemployment obligation assessment 
imposed on employers.   

Provides that the unemployment obligation assessment shall be based on the aggregate principal 
amount of bonds issued for nonrefunding purposes and shall be determined by multiplying the 
employer’s contribution rate in effect on the date that the Governor issues a proclamation calling 
an election on the issuance of the bonds for employers with accounts as of such date and the 
employer's contribution rate as of the employer's liability date for employers establishing 
accounts after the date of the proclamation by: 

 25% if the aggregate principal amount of bonds issued is $350,000,000 or less; 
 30% if the aggregate principal amount of bonds issued is $350,000,001 to $400,000,000; 
 33.5% if the aggregate principal amount of bonds issued is $400,000,001 to $450,000,000; 

and 
 37.5% if the aggregate principal amount of bonds issued is $450,000,001 to $500,000,000. 

Provides that, among other things, the purpose of the bond issuance shall be to:  (1) repay the 
principal and interest on Title XII advances from the federal trust fund; (2) pay the costs of 
issuance of the bonds; and (3) pay unemployment benefits by depositing bond proceeds into the 
Unemployment Compensation Fund. 

Provides that the unemployment obligation assessment shall not be collected until the qualified 
voters of the state approve the issuance of bonds and shall be collected until the end of the 
quarter immediately following the repayment of all bonds authorized under the Bond Act. 

Provides that the Arkansas Development Finance Authority may issue the Arkansas 
Unemployment Trust Fund Bonds for the purpose of refunding bonds previously issued if the 
total amount of bonds outstanding after the refunding is completed does not exceed the total 
amount authorized. 

Provides that to the extent that refunding bonds are issued and the principal amount of the 
refunding bonds is not in a greater principal amount than the outstanding principal amount of the 



bonds being refunded, the principal amount of the refunding bonds shall not be subject to the 
$500,000,000 limit.  

Provides that, if the refunding bonds are issued in a greater principal amount than the bonds 
being refunded, the principal amount of the refunding bonds shall not count against the 
$500,000,000 limit so long as the aggregate debt service on the refunding bonds is less than the 
aggregate debt service on the bonds being refunded. 

Requires each contributing employer to pay a separate and additional assessment, to be known as 
the unemployment obligation assessment, on wages paid by that employer with respect to 
employment in addition to the contributions, stabilization and extended benefits taxes, and 
advance interest taxes levied. 

Provides that the effective date of the unemployment obligation assessment shall be the first day 
of the calendar quarter immediately following the month in which the Secretary of State certifies 
the vote of the voters approving the unemployment obligation assessment and the issuance of the 
bonds, and the assessment is effective until the end of the quarter immediately following the 
repayment of all bonds. 

Provides that this unemployment obligation assessment shall not be credited to the separate 
account of any employer.  

Provides that the unemployment obligation assessment shall be levied and collected in the same 
manner as contributions and shall be subject to the same penalty and interest, collection, 
impoundment, priority, lien, certificate of assessment, and assessment provisions and procedures 
under the Arkansas Employment Security Law. 

Provides that receipts from the unemployment obligation assessment and any penalty and interest 
on the unemployment obligation assessment shall be deposited into the Unemployment 
Compensation Fund Clearing Account. 

Provides that at least once each month, deposits of the unemployment obligation assessment 
payment and any interest and penalty payments applicable to the unemployment obligation 
assessment shall be deposited into the Department of Workforce Services Bond Financing Trust 
Fund.  

Provides that debt service on the bonds shall be paid in a timely manner and shall not be paid 
directly or indirectly by an equivalent reduction in unemployment contributions or taxes 
imposed. 

Provides that upon retirement of all bonds, the following shall be transferred to the 
Unemployment Compensation Fund: 

 Surplus unemployment obligation assessment collections; and 
 Delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest due under the unemployment obligation assessment. 



Establishes a special restricted fund to be known as the "Bond Financing Trust Fund", to be 
maintained and administered by the Department of Workforce Services into which shall be 
deposited collections of the unemployment obligation assessment and any penalties and interest 
with respect to the unemployment obligation assessment. 

Provides that moneys in the Bond Financing Trust Fund may be used, among other things, to 
make refunds of the unemployment obligation assessment, and interest and penalty payments 
that were erroneously paid, and to return moneys to the Unemployment Compensation Fund 
Clearing Account which may have been incorrectly identified and erroneously transferred to the 
Bond Financing Trust Fund. 

ARKANSAS  SB 593     ENACTED March 31, 2011 
  (Act No. 861)      EFFECTIVE March 31, 2011, 

or as noted 

Extensions and Special Programs 

Decreases the maximum number of weeks payable under the shared work plan from 26 to 25. 

Monetary Entitlement 
 
Decreases the minimum weekly benefit amount from $82 to $81 and the maximum weekly 
benefit amount from $457 to $451, effective July 1, 2012. 
 
Changes the formula for calculating the number of benefit weeks from the lesser of 26 times the 
weekly benefit amount or 1/3 times the base period wages to the lesser of 25 times the weekly 
benefit amount or 1/3 times the base period wages. 
 
Changes the qualifying wages needed in the base period to monetarily qualify from 37 times the 
weekly benefit amount to 35 times the weekly benefit amount. 
 
Provides that to requalify for a succeeding benefit year, individuals must have been paid wages 
in insured work equal to at least 35 (previously 37) times their weekly benefit amount in at least 
2 base period calendar quarters and subsequent to filing the claim which established the previous 
benefit year, they had insured work and were paid wages for work equal to 8 (previously 3) times 
their weekly benefit amount. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

Provides that in all cases of discharge for absenteeism, the individual will be disqualified if the 
discharge was pursuant to the terms of a bona fide written attendance policy with progressive 
warnings, regardless of whether the policy is a fault or no-fault policy. (Previously, the law 
provided that the individual's attendance record for the 12-month period immediately preceding 
the discharge and the reasons for the absenteeism shall be taken into consideration for purposes 
of determining whether the absenteeism constitutes misconduct.)  The disqualification shall 
continue until, subsequent to filing a claim, the individual has had at least 30 days of 



employment covered by an unemployment compensation law of Arkansas, another state, or the 
United States.  (Previously, the law provided that the individual's disqualification for misconduct 
shall be for 8 weeks of unemployment.) 

Provides that misconduct includes violation of any behavioral policies of the employer as 
distinguished from deficiencies in meeting production standards or accomplishing job duties.  

Provides that if an individual is discharged from his or her last work for misconduct in 
connection with the work on account of dishonesty, drinking on the job, reporting for work while 
under the influence of intoxicants, including a controlled substance, or willful violation of bona 
fide rules or customs of the employer pertaining to his or her safety or the safety of fellow 
employees, persons, or company property, he or she shall be disqualified until, subsequent to the 
date of the disqualification, the claimant has been paid wages in 2 quarters for insured work 
totaling not less than 35 times his or her weekly benefit amount.  (Previously, the law provided 
for disqualification from the date of filing the claim until 10 weeks of employment in each of 
which earned wages were equal to at least the individual’s weekly benefit amount.) 

Provides, among other things, that if an individual is discharged for testing positive for an illegal 
drug pursuant to a United States Department of Transportation-qualified drug screen conducted 
in accordance with the employer's bona fide written drug policy, the individual is disqualified 
until, subsequent to the date of the disqualification, the claimant has been paid wages in 2 
quarters for insured work totaling not less than 35 times his or her weekly benefit amount.  
(Previously, the law provided for disqualification from the date of filing the claim until 10 weeks 
of employment in each of which earned wages were equal to at least the individual’s weekly 
benefit amount.) 

Provides that an individual shall not be deemed guilty of misconduct for poor performance in his 
or her job duties unless the employer can prove that the poor performance was intentional.  

Provides that an individual’s repeated act of commission or omission or negligence despite 
progressive discipline shall constitute sufficient proof of intentional poor performance.  

Provides that an individual who refuses an “alternate suitable job” rather than being terminated 
for poor performance shall be disqualified until, subsequent to filing a claim, he or she has had at 
least 30 days of employment covered by an unemployment compensation law of Arkansas, 
another state, or the United States.  

Provides that a disqualification for failing without good cause to apply for available suitable 
work when so directed by a Department of Workforce Services office or to accept available 
suitable work when offered shall continue until, subsequent to filing a claim, he or she has had at 
least 30 days of employment covered by an unemployment compensation law of Arkansas, 
another state, or the United States, and shall begin with the week in which the failure to apply for 
or accept available suitable work occurred.  (Previously, the law provided that the individual's 
disqualification shall be for 8 weeks of unemployment.) 



Provides that a disqualification for being rejected for offered employment as the direct result of a 
failure to:  appear for a United States Department of Transportation-qualified drug screen after 
having received a bona fide job offer of suitable work subject to passage of the drug screen; or 
pass a United States Department of Transportation-qualified drug screen by testing positive for 
an illegal drug after having received a bona fide job offer of suitable work shall continue until, 
among other things, subsequent to the date of the disqualification, the claimant has been paid 
wages in 2 quarters for insured work totaling not less than 35 times his or her weekly benefit 
amount. 

FLORIDA      HB 7005    ENACTED June 27, 2011 
  (CH 235)           EFFECTIVE June 27, 2011, 

or as noted 

Administration 

Requires, notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Agency for Workforce Innovation to 
contract with one or more consumer-reporting agencies to provide users with secured electronic 
access to employer-provided information relating to the quarterly wages report submitted in 
accordance with the state's unemployment compensation law.  The access is limited to the wage 
reports for the appropriate amount of time for the purpose the information is requested.   
Establishes procedures for contracts with consumer-reporting agencies and users and for the 
release, access, security, costs, confidentiality, and disclosure of information.  Provides language 
concerning the termination of contracts due to violations. 

Appeals 
 
Establishes procedures relating to the receipt, admission, exclusion, and use of evidence for a 
hearing. 
 
Provides that orders of the Unemployment Appeals Commission appealed to the courts for 
judicial review are subject to review only by notice of appeal in the District Court of Appeal in 
the appellate district in which a claimant resides or the job separation arose, or in the appellate 
district where the order was issued.  However, if the notice of appeal is filed solely with the 
Unemployment Appeals Commission, the appeal shall be filed in the District Court of Appeal in 
the appellate district in which the order was issued.  
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Temporarily modifies the extended benefits program provisions concerning the EB “on” and 
“off” indicators by using a 3-year look-back for the optional indicators based on the seasonally 
adjusted total unemployment rate (TUR) for weeks of unemployment ending on or before 
December 10, 2011. 
 
Changes the expiration date of an “on” indicator week and “high unemployment period” based 
on the seasonally adjusted total unemployment rate (TUR) for the federal-state Extended 



Benefits (EB) program from ending on or before May 8, 2010, to ending on or before December 
10, 2011. 
 
Makes the EB provisions applicable to claims for weeks of unemployment in which the 
exhaustee establishes entitlement to EB for the period between June 2, 2010, and January 4, 2012 
(previously, between February 22, 2009, and June 2, 2010). 

Financing 

Establishes provisions for the collection of past due contributions and reimbursements and 
delinquent, erroneous, incomplete, or insufficient reports below:  

 Payments for 2012, 2013, and 2014 Contributions.--For an annual administrative fee not to 
exceed $5, a contributing employer may pay its quarterly contributions due for wages paid in 
the first three quarters of 2012, 2013, and 2014 in equal installments if those contributions 
are paid as follows: 

1. For contributions due for wages paid in the first quarter of each year, one-fourth of the 
contributions due must be paid on or before April 30, one-fourth must be paid on or 
before July 31, one-fourth must be paid on or before October 31, and one-fourth must be 
paid on or before December 31. 

2. In addition to the payments specified in subparagraph 1, for contributions due for wages 
paid in the second quarter of each year, one-third of the contributions due must be paid 
on or before July 31, one-third must be paid on or before October 31, and one-third must 
be paid on or before December 31. 

3. In addition to the payments specified in subparagraphs 1 and 2, for contributions due for 
wages paid in the third quarter of each year, one-half of the contributions due must be 
paid on or before October 31, and one-half must be paid on or before December 31. 

4. The annual administrative fee assessed for electing to pay under the installment method 
shall be collected at the time the employer makes the first installment payment each year. 
The fee shall be segregated from the payment and deposited into the Operating Trust 
Fund of the Department of Revenue. 

5. Interest does not accrue on any contribution that becomes due for wages paid in the first 
three quarters of each year if the employer pays the contribution in accordance with 
subparagraphs 1 - 4.  Interest and fees continue to accrue on prior delinquent 
contributions and commence accruing on all contributions due for wages paid in the first 
3 quarters of each year which are not paid in accordance with subparagraphs 1 - 3.  
Penalties may be assessed in accordance with the state law.  The contributions due for 
wages paid in the fourth quarter of 2012, 2013, and 2014 are not affected by this 
paragraph and are due and payable in accordance with the state law.  

Monetary Entitlement 

Provides that, effective January 1, 2012, each otherwise eligible individual is entitled during any 
benefit year to a total amount of benefits equal to 25 percent of the total wages in his or her base 
period, not to exceed $6,325 or the product arrived at by multiplying the weekly benefit amount 



by the number of weeks determined in the next paragraph, whichever is less.  (Under prior law, 
entitlement was limited to $7,150.)   

Provides that for claims submitted during a calendar year, the duration of benefits is limited to:  

 Twelve weeks if this state's average unemployment rate is at or below 5 percent. 
 An additional week in addition to the 12 weeks for each 0.5 percent increment in this state's 

average unemployment rate above 5 percent. 
 Up to a maximum of 23 weeks if this state's average unemployment rate equals or exceeds 

10.5 percent.  

Defines the term “Florida average unemployment rate" to mean the average of the 3 months for 
the most recent third calendar year quarter of the seasonally adjusted statewide unemployment 
rates as published by the Agency for Workforce Innovation.  

Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Adds to the definition of “misconduct” that misconduct occurs irrespective of whether the 
misconduct occurs at the workplace or during working hours.  The amended misconduct 
provisions include but are not limited to: 
 
 Conduct demonstrating conscious (previously, willful or wanton) disregard of an employer’s 

interests and found to be a deliberate violation or disregard of the reasonable standards of 
behavior which the employer expects (previously, has a right to expect) of his or her 
employee. 

 Carelessness or negligence to a degree or recurrence that manifests culpability, or wrongful 
intent (previously, or evil design), or shows an intentional and substantial disregard of the 
employer’s interests or of employee’s duties and obligations to his or her employer. 

 Chronic absenteeism or tardiness in deliberate violation of a known policy of the employer or 
one or more unapproved absences following a written reprimand or warning relating to more 
than one unapproved absence. 

 A willful and deliberate violation of a standard or regulation of this state by an employee of 
an employer licensed or certified by this state, which violation would cause the employer to 
be sanctioned or have its license or certification suspended by this state. 

 A violation of an employer's rule, unless the claimant can demonstrate that: 
 

1. He or she did not know, and could not reasonably know, of the rule's requirements; 
2. The rule is not lawful or not reasonably related to the job environment and performance; 

or 
3. The rule is not fairly or consistently enforced.  

Defines the term “initial skills review” to mean an online education or training program, such as 
that established under Florida state law, that is approved by the Agency for Workforce 
Innovation and designed to measure an individual’s mastery level of workplace skills. 



Provides that a claimant must be actively seeking work to be considered available for work, 
which means engaging in systematic and sustained efforts to find work, including contacting at 
least 5 prospective employers for each week of unemployment claimed.  The claimant may be 
required to provide proof of such efforts to the one-stop career center as part of reemployment 
services.  Requires random reviews by the Agency for Workforce Innovation of work search 
information provided by claimants.  As an alternative to contacting at least 5 prospective 
employers for any week of unemployment claimed, a claimant may, for that same week, report in 
person to a one-stop career center to meet with a representative of the center and access 
reemployment services of the center.  Requires the center to keep a record of the services or 
information provided to the claimant and provide the records to the Agency for Workforce 
Innovation upon request by the Agency for Workforce Innovation.  (Effective August 1, 2011.) 

Disqualifies an individual for benefits for any week in which the individual is receiving or has 
received severance pay.  However, the number of weeks that an individual's severance pay 
disqualifies the individual is equal to the amount of the severance pay divided by that 
individual's average weekly wage received from the employer that paid the severance pay, 
rounded down to the nearest whole number, beginning with the week the individual is separated 
from employment.  (Effective August 1, 2011.)  

Disqualifies an individual for benefits for any week in which the individual is unavailable for 
work due to incarceration or imprisonment.  (Effective August 1, 2011.)  

INDIANA       HB 1450                        ENACTED February 24, 2011 
(P. L. 2)                             EFFECTIVE February 24, 2011, 

or as noted 
 
Financing 

Beginning January 1, 2011, except as otherwise provided, each employer shall pay contributions 
equal to the amount determined or estimated by the Indiana Department of Workforce 
Development (previously, 12 percent of wages.) 

Provides that for a calendar year beginning January 1, 2011, an experience rated employer who 
paid wages during the calendar year, and whose contribution rate for the calendar year was 
determined, and has had a payroll in each of the 3 preceding 12-month periods must pay an 
unemployment insurance surcharge equal to 13 percent of the employer’s contribution for 
calendar year 2011 if, during the calendar year, the state is required to pay interest on the Title 
XII advances made to the state from the federal unemployment account in the federal 
unemployment trust fund. 

Provides that for a calendar year beginning January 1, 2012, in which employers are required to 
pay the unemployment insurance surcharge, the Indiana Department of Workforce Development 
shall determine, not later than January 31, the surcharge percentage for that year based on (1) the 
interest rate charged the state for the year determined under Federal law; and (2) the state's 
outstanding loan balance to the federal unemployment account on January 1 of the year.  



Requires that the unemployment insurance surcharge be paid quarterly at the same time as 
employer contributions are paid, and failure to make such payments is a delinquency. 

Allows the Indiana Department of Workforce Development to use amounts from the surcharge to 
pay interest on the Title XII advances and requires the deposit of any amounts received and not 
used to pay interest on Title XII advances into the unemployment insurance benefit fund. 

Provides that amounts paid and used to pay interest on Title XII advances do not affect and may 
not be charged to the experience account of any employer.  Amounts paid and used for purposes 
other than to pay interest on Title XII advances must be credited to each employer's experience 
account in proportion to the amount the employer paid during the preceding 4 calendar quarters.  

Establishes the unemployment insurance solvency fund for the purpose of paying interest on 
Title XII advances, to be administered by the department.  

Requires that money received from the unemployment insurance surcharge that the Indiana 
Department of Workforce Development elects to use to pay interest on Title XII advances shall 
be deposited in the fund for the purposes of the fund.  

Requires the Treasurer of State to invest the money in the fund not currently needed to meet the 
obligations of the fund in the same manner as other public money may be invested.  Interest that 
accrues from these investments shall be deposited at least quarterly in the fund.  

Provides that money in the fund at the end of a state fiscal year does not revert to the state 
general fund.  

Decreases the contribution rate for new employers from 2.7 percent to 2.5 percent beginning 
January 1, 2011. 

Adds to the requirements to become experience rated that an employer has properly filed all 
required contribution and wage reports, and all contributions, penalties, and interest due and 
owing by the employer or the employer’s predecessors have been paid.  

Provides that an employer’s contribution rate is equal to the sum of the employer’s contribution 
rate determined or estimated by the department (previously, at least 12 percent) plus 2 percent if 
required contribution and wage reports are not filed timely, and all contributions, penalties, and 
interest due and owing by the employer or the employer’s predecessors have not been paid 
timely.  An employer’s rate under this provision may not exceed 12 percent. 

Provides that for calendar years 2011 through 2020, Schedule E applies in determining and 
assigning each employer's contribution rate.  

Monetary Entitlement 
 
Changes the computation of the weekly benefit amount beginning July 1, 2012, from 5 percent 
of the first $2,000 of the individual's wage credits in the highest quarter of the base period; and 4 



percent of the individual's remaining wage credits in the highest quarter; to 47 percent of the 
individual's prior average weekly wage, rounded, if not already a multiple of $1, to the next 
lower dollar.  The maximum weekly benefit amount may not exceed $390.  
 
Defines and calculates “prior average weekly wage” as the individuals’ total wage credits during 
the base period divided by 52. 
 
Provides that “wage credits” may not exceed $9,250 for calendar quarters beginning on and after 
July 1, 2005, and before July 1, 2012. 
 
Removes, for calendar quarters beginning on and after July 1, 2012, the $9,250 “wage credit” 
cap. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Effective July 1, 2011, provides that an individual is not totally unemployed, part-totally 
unemployed, or partially unemployed for any week in which the:  
 
 Individual is regularly and customarily employed on an on-call or as-needed basis and has 

remuneration for personal services payable to the individual or work available from the 
individual's on-call or as needed employer.  

 Indiana Department of Workforce Development finds that the individual is on a vacation 
week and receiving, or has received, remuneration from the employer for that week.  (This 
provision does not apply to an individual whose employer fails to comply with a department 
rule or policy regarding the filing of a notice, report, information, or claim in connection with 
an individual, group, or mass separation arising from the vacation period.)  

 Indiana Department of Workforce Development finds the individual is on a vacation week 
and has not received remuneration from the employer for that week because of a written 
contract between the employer and the employees or the employer's regular vacation policy 
and practice.  (This provision applies only if the department finds that the individual has a 
reasonable assurance that the individual will have employment available with the employer 
after the vacation period ends.)  (This provision does not apply to an individual whose 
employer fails to comply with a department rule or policy regarding the filing of a notice, 
report, information, or claim in connection with an individual, group, or mass separation 
arising from the vacation period.)  

Defines, effective July 1, 2011, "deductible income” to mean: 

 For a week in which a payment is actually received by an individual, payments made by an 
employer to an individual who accepts an offer from the employer in connection with a 
layoff or a plant closure.   
 

 Except for compensation made under a valid negotiated contract or agreement in connection 
with a layoff or plant closure, without regard to how the compensation is characterized by the 
contract or agreement, the part of a payment made by an employer to an individual who 



accepts an offer from the employer in connection with a layoff or a plant closure if that part 
is attributable to a week and the week:  
 

.  occurs after an individual receives the payment; and  

.  is used under the terms of a written agreement to compute the payment.  

(The above dot points apply to initial claims for unemployment filed for a week that begins after 
March 14, 2008, and before October 1, 2011, and, therefore, will be removed from the meaning 
of deductible income after September 31, 2011.) 

For the purpose of deductible income only, remuneration for services from employing units does 
not include, for initial claims for unemployment filed for a week that begins after March 14, 
2008, and before October 1, 2011, compensation made under a valid negotiated contract or 
agreement in connection with a layoff or plant closure, without regard to how the compensation 
is characterized by the contract or agreement.  (After September 31, 2011, remuneration for 
services will include such compensation.) 

Provides that for initial claims for unemployment filed for a week beginning March 15, 2008, 
and ending September 30, 2011, a person who elects to retire in connection with a layoff or plant 
closure and receive pension, retirement, or annuity payments is ineligible to receive benefits.  
Except a person who accepts an offer of payment or other compensation offered by an employer 
to avert or lessen the effect of a layoff or plant closure and otherwise meets the eligibility 
requirements is entitled to receive benefits in the same amounts, under the same terms, and 
subject to the same conditions as any other unemployed person.  (Effective July 1, 2011.)  

Provides that notwithstanding other provisions of law, an individual shall not be disqualified for 
benefits for any week with respect to which the individual receives a distribution from a pension, 
retirement, or annuity plan of an employer when an individual uses the distribution to satisfy a 
severe financial hardship resulting from an unforeseeable emergency that is the result of events 
beyond the individual's control. (Effective July 1, 2011.)  

Modifies the between and within terms denial provisions to provide that for services to which 26 
U.S.C. 3309(a)(1) applies, if the services are provided to or on behalf of an educational 
institution, compensation payable based on the services may be denied as applicable.   (Effective 
July 1 2011.) 

Provides, that beginning January 1, 2012, individuals may elect to have state and local taxes 
deducted and withheld from their payment of unemployment compensation.  If an election is 
made, the Indiana Department of Workforce Development shall withhold state and local taxes at 
the applicable rate prescribed in withholding instructions issued by the Department of State 
Revenue.  The money withheld shall remain in the unemployment fund until transferred to the 
state for payment of income taxes.  The Commissioner, Indiana Department of Workforce 
Development, shall follow all procedures of the Department of State Revenue concerning the 
withholding of income taxes.  (Effective July 1, 2011.) 



KENTUCKY  HB 339   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE July 15, 2011  
   (CH 30)   
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that to qualify for a second benefit year workers must have, subsequent to the beginning 
of the worker’s immediately preceding benefit year, worked and earned wages in insured work 
equal to at least 5 times their weekly benefit rate established for the previous benefit year.  
(Previously, workers must have been paid wages in the last 2 quarters of the base period of at 
least 8 times their weekly benefit rate.) 
 
MICHIGAN  HB 4394  ENACTED and EFFECTIVE December 20, 2011 

(Act No.  281)  
 
Financing 
 
Provides that for benefit years from October 1, 2000, through December 31, 2013, if a 
contributing base period employer notifies the agency it paid gross wages in a week at least equal 
to its benefit charges for a week, the agency shall issue a monetary redetermination noncharging 
the employer’s account for that week and the remaining weeks of the benefit year for benefits 
paid that would otherwise be charged to the employer’s account.  
 
Provides that for benefit years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, benefits paid will be 
charged to the nonchargeable benefits account and not charged to the employer’s account if: 
 

 The individual reports gross earnings in the week with a contributing base period 
employer at least equal to the employer’s benefit charges for the week; or 

 A contributing base period employer timely protests a determination charging benefits to 
its account for a week if gross wages were paid by the employer to the individual at least 
equal to the benefit charges for the week. 

 
MICHIGAN  SB 484   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE December 19, 2011 
   (P.A. 268)  
 
Financing 
 
Creates the “Obligation Trust Fund” (Fund) as a separate fund in the State Treasury not to be 
considered part of the General Fund; money in the Fund would remain at the close of the fiscal 
year, and would not lapse into the General Fund.  The State Treasurer may receive and deposit 
money or other assets from any source into the Fund and shall direct the investment of money 
within the Fund, crediting to the Fund earnings from investments of money for the Fund. 
 
Requires the deposit of all “obligation” assessments (assessments) collected into the Fund.  All 
interest, penalties, and damages derived from the assessments along with portions of the 
proceeds from any obligations specified by the Michigan Finance Authority (MFA) shall be 
deposited into the Fund. 



 
Requires the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) to administer 
the Fund for auditing purposes and expend money from the Fund only: 
 
 To pay obligations, including administrative and associated expenses; 
 To refund erroneously collected assessments; and  
 For any other purpose for which the MFA could issue obligations. 
 
Permits the Director of LARA to request the MFA to issue obligations in order to repay Federal 
Title XII advances with interest on those advances, fund unemployment benefits, and fund 
capitalized interest, debt service reserve funds, and payment of costs of, and administrative 
expenses connected with, issuing “obligations.” 
 
Defines “obligation” as a note, bond, financial instrument, or other evidences of indebtedness 
issued. 
 
Stipulates that in 2011 and in each year thereafter in which any obligation is outstanding, 
employers are subject to, and shall be assessed, and shall pay an obligation assessment.  The 
assessment shall be collected quarterly in addition to required contributions, is not subject to the 
limiting provisions for required contributions, is in addition to and separate from the solvency 
tax imposed, is due at the same time, collected in the same manner, and subject to the same 
penalties and interest as contributions assessed, and shall be deposited into the Fund. 
 
The rate of the assessment shall be determined by the State Treasurer in consultation with the 
Director of LARA.  The assessment rate shall be applied to all contributing employers on the 
taxable wage base limit, and may take into account the employer’s experience rating from the 
previous year.  The assessment shall be sufficient to ensure timely payment of: 
 
 The principal, interest, and redemption premiums on obligations; 
 Administrative expenses, credit enhancement and termination fees, and any other fees 

derived from issuing obligations; 
 All other amounts required to be maintained and paid under the terms of a MFA resolution, 

indenture, or authorizing statute under which obligations are issued; 
 Amounts necessary to maintain ratings assigned by nationally recognized rating services on 

obligations at a level determined by the State Treasurer. 
 

The yearly revenue generated by the assessment is irrevocably pledged to the payment of 
obligations and administrative expenses, and is subject to the pledge and lien described in the 
MFA resolution, indenture, and authorizing statue under which the obligation is issued.  
 
MINNESOTA SB 1130   ENACTED May 24, 2011 

(CH 84)   EFFECTIVE August 1, 2012, 
or as noted 

 
Coverage 
 



Excludes from coverage employment for a school, college, or university by a student who is 
enrolled and whose primary relation to the school, college or university is as a student.  This 
does not include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college or university is an 
employee who also takes courses.  (Previously, employment for a school, college, or university 
by a student who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes at the school, college, or university 
was excluded from coverage.) 
 
Excludes from coverage employment of a corporate officer, if the officer directly or indirectly, 
including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the employer 
corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the member directly 
or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the 
employer limited liability company.  (Previously, employment of a corporate officer, if the 
officer owns 25 percent or more of the employer corporation, and employment of a member of a 
limited liability company, if the member owns 25 percent or more of the employer limited 
liability company was excluded from coverage.) 
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Includes an individual determined eligible for Trade Adjustment Assistance in the definition of a 
dislocated worker.  (Effective May 29, 2011.) 
 
Financing 
 
Allows the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic 
Development to assess up to 8 percent of the quarterly unemployment tax due to pay interest on 
a federal loan (eliminates the minimum assessment of 2 percent).    
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Changes, effective October 28, 2012, the requirements for establishing a benefit account to 
$2,400 in a 4-quarter base period or 5.3 percent of the state’s average annual wage rounded down 
to the next lower $100, whichever is higher.  (Was $1,000 in the high quarter and $250 outside 
the high quarter.)  
 
Provides that effective May 25, 2011, wages used to establish a new benefit account following 
the expiration of a prior benefit account must meet the new benefit account requirement (was 8 
times the weekly benefit amount).   
 
Changes the earnings requirement following a period of disqualification for a voluntary quit or 
discharge to one-half of the amount required to establish a benefit account (was 8 times the 
weekly benefit amount) applicable to all requalifications after October 28, 2011.   
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Expands the definition of “immediate family member” to include a grandparent.  (Effective  
July 1, 2011.) 



 
Provides that employment is not considered suitable if the employment is with a staffing service 
and less than 25 percent (previously, 45 percent) of the applicant’s wage credits are from a job 
assignment with the client of a staffing service. 
 
Provides that a job assignment with a staffing agency is considered suitable only if the individual 
received 25 (previously, 45 percent) percent or more of wage credits from job assignments with a 
staffing agency. 
 
Provides that an individual is not eligible for benefits for any week payment received for sick 
pay or “personal time off” pay is equal to or in excess of the weekly benefit amount.  (Effective 
for determinations issued on or after August 7, 2011.) 
 
Waives temporarily the requirements for availability of suitable work and the 32 hours of work 
limitation for participants in a pilot program for dislocated workers.  (Effective May 29, 2011, 
and expires June 30, 2012.) 
 
MONTANA  HB 80    ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 7, 2011 
   (CH 123) 
 
Appeals 
 
Provides that the Department of Labor and Industry and the Board of Labor Appeals may 
individually or jointly issue subpoenas and compel testimony and the production of evidence, 
including books, records, papers, documents, and other objects that may be necessary and proper 
in regard to any investigation or proceeding. 
 
Provides that if a subpoena issued and served is disobeyed or if a witness refuses to testify to any 
matter for which the witness may be interrogated in a proceeding before the department, the 
department may apply to a district court for an order to compel compliance with the subpoena or 
testimony.  Disobedience of the court’s order constitutes contempt of court. 
 
Requires that the Department of Labor and Industry, through the state lottery commission if 
overpayment is to be collected, provide the claimant with notice of the right to request a hearing 
on the offset action. 
 
Coverage 
 
Excludes from the definition of “employment” service performed by a volunteer participant in a 
program funded under the National and Community Service Act of 1990 or the Domestic 
Volunteer Service Act of 1973. 
 
Financing 
 
Includes in the meaning of “wages” (unless specifically exempted) the amount paid as a salary, 
draw, or profit distribution to a sole proprietor, a working member of a partnership, or a member 



of a limited liability company that is treated as a partnership or sole proprietorship or to a partner 
in a limited partnership that has filed with the secretary of state, when the salary, draw, or profit 
distribution is paid directly by the enterprise in which the payee has an ownership interest. 
 
Provides that benefits may not be charged against the account of an employer if the worker 
separates from employment as a result of domestic violence, a sexual assault, or stalking. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that an individual is considered to be totally unemployed in any week during which the 
individual, due to lack of work, worked fewer than the hours typically worked in employment 
and earned wages payable that are less than 2 times the individual’s weekly benefit amount.  
(Previously, the law provided that an individual is considered to be totally unemployed in any 
week during which the individual worked less than the customary hours that are normal for the 
individual’s particular occupation due to lack of work and provided that the wages payable are 
less than 2 times the individual’s weekly benefit amount.) 
 
Provides that an individual is not considered to be unemployed in any week in which the 
individual works at least 40 hours in employment. 
 
Overpayment 
 
Allows the offset of an unemployment benefit overpayment and any penalty by the interception 
of lottery winnings. 
 
Provides that 100 percent of the specified amount of overpayment, unpaid taxes, penalties, and 
interest will be deducted from the lottery winnings. 
 
NEW HAMPSHIRE  HB 26    ENACTED July 13, 2011 

(CH 254)   EFFECTIVE September 11, 2011 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Modifies the definition of gross misconduct to mean an unemployed individual who has been 
discharged for arson, sabotage, felony, assault which causes bodily injury, criminal threatening, 
or a single theft or multiple thefts in the aggregate of an amount equal to or greater than $250, 
where such conduct is connected with his or her work, shall suffer loss of all wage credits earned 
prior to the date of such dismissal. (Prior definition meant an unemployed individual who was 
discharged for arson, sabotage, felony, assault which causes bodily injury, criminal threatening, 
or theft of an amount greater than $500 where such conduct is connected with his or her work, 
shall suffer loss of all wage credits earned prior to the date of such dismissal.) 
 
Disqualifies an individual for benefits who has been discharged for a single theft or multiple 
thefts in the aggregate of an amount greater than $100 but less than $250, where such conduct is 
connected with his or her work for a period of not less than 4 weeks nor more than 26 weeks 
from the date of discharge, and until wages in employment have been earned in each of 5 weeks 



of at least 20 percent more than the individual’s weekly benefit amount after the date of such 
discharge. 
 
 
 
 
PENNSYLVANIA  Rule 4685 2010   ADOPTED June 17, 2011 

(34 PA Code CH 63)   EFFECTIVE June 18, 2011, 
         or as noted 
 
Financing 
 
Revises rules related to employer transfer of experience records and reserve account balances for 
an organization, trade, or business; employer responsibilities; to remove obsolete sections; and to 
consolidate and/or update other sections to come into conformity with state law changes. 
 

 Modifies the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry’s interpretation that an 
employer’s experience record will not transfer to a successor if common ownership, 
control or management commenced immediately before the transfer or a series of 
transactions culminating in the transfer. 

 
 Specifies that the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry will combine the 

experience of the predecessor and the experience of the successor for determining the 
contribution rate of the successor.  Provides the conditions for determining the earliest 
calendar year the combination of the experience will apply.  No rates shall apply prior to 
the transfer of experience.  

 
 Provides that the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry may not consider facts 

or legal reasons not asserted by the employer in its application for review and 
redetermination. 

 
 Provides that the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry will not consider a 

redetermination of a contribution rate when an inaccuracy of the reserve account balance 
on the notice was due to error that occurred more than 4 years prior to the computation 
date for the contribution rate in question, or when an employer defaults on a deferred 
payment plan. 

 
 Specifies the acceptable filing methods for employers to use when filing documents and 

appeals with the Unemployment Compensation Tax Service. 
 

 Provides that an employer may be relieved of benefit charges when a claimant is 
ineligible because he/she separated under specified disqualifying conditions due to willful 
misconduct, for voluntarily leaving, for failing to submit to or pass a drug test, due to a 
natural disaster, for continuing to work part-time without material change, and due to 
cessation of business of 18 months or less caused by a disaster.  An employer may also be 
granted relief of benefit charges under conditions that would not be disqualifying such as 



voluntarily leaving because of a disability, or due to application of the labor standard 
provisions. 

 
 Specifies the time limits for employers to request relief from benefit charges as well as 

under what circumstances relief will be granted. 
 

 Specifies reporting requirements for employers.  Requires electronic reporting by 
employers.  (Effective after Department notice is issued.) 

 
 Specifies records required to be kept by employers which must contain information on 

workers considered to be independent contractors, workers considered “not employees,” 
and workers covered by a professional employer organization (PEO) arrangement.  

 
 Specifies requirements for non-profit organizations and contributing employers electing 

to make payments in lieu of contributions and reimbursable employers converting to 
contributing employers. 

 
TEXAS  HB 14     ENACTED June 17, 2011 

(CH 212)    EFFECTIVE September 1, 2011 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Disqualifies an individual for benefits for a benefit period for which severance pay is received.  
(Applicable to claims filed on or after September 1, 2011.) 
  
 
 


