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ALABAMA  HB 279     ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 21, 2010 
   (Act No. 505)      
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Changes the expiration date for paying extended benefits based upon the seasonally adjusted 
total unemployment rate (TUR) to establish an “off” indicator to the end of the week ending 4 
weeks prior to the last week for which the Federal government pays 100 percent of most EB 
costs.  The alternative expiration date of on or before December 5, 2009 is removed. 
 
Financing
 
Extends to September 30, 2011 (previously September 30, 2010), the quarterly 0.06 percent 
special assessment used to fund the Employment Security Enhancement Fund. 
 
Extends to September 30, 2011 (previously September 30, 2010), the current tax rate structure 
for determining an employer’s contribution rate. 
 
INDIANA       SB 23                          ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 25, 2010, 

(P. L. 110)                    or as noted 
 

Administration 
 
Deletes the provision establishing an unemployment claims compliance center and required 
procedures for the center.  (Effective January 1, 2010.)  
 
Changes the deadline for employer response for information from within 10 days after the date a 
request is delivered to within 10 days after the date it is mailed.  (Effective January 1, 2010.)   
 
Establishes an interim study committee to study feasibility of indexing unemployment benefits 
and the taxable wage base.  Requires a final report before November 1, 2010.  Provision expires 
January 1, 2011. 
 
Establishes the Helping Indiana Restart Employment (HIRE) program to provide employer 
subsidies for hiring (applicable upon approval of reimbursement available from the TANF 
emergency fund) and requires the Commissioner of the Department of Workforce Development 



to examine whether expenditures by an eligible employer allocated to the state match money for 
the program may be credited under state or federal law toward the eligible employer’s 
unemployment insurance contributions.  Report is due to the budget committee no later than June 
1, 2010.  Provision expires June 30, 2010. 
 
Appeals 
 
Effective July 1, 2010, requires each administrative law judge employed or used by the 
department of workforce development to be an attorney who is licensed to practice law in 
Indiana.   
 
Coverage 
 
Provides that the Department of Labor has power to investigate questions and complaints 
concerning the classification of employees, effective July 1, 2010.  Directs the Department to 
establish guidelines and procedures which must include mechanisms to share data with 
appropriate state agencies and recoup contributions owed, record keeping requirements for 
contractors, investigative procedures and  penalties for violations.  Requires use of the definition 
of employee found in section 3401(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and the 20 factor test used 
by the Internal Revenue Service.  Recommendations for legislative changes, including budgetary 
recommendations, shall be provided before November 1, 2010 to the legislative council.  
Guidelines and procedures, after considering any recommendations from the pension 
management oversight commission, shall be converted to rules by August 1, 2011. 
 
Financing 
 
Reduces the taxable wage base for calendar year 2010 to $7,000 (previously $9,500).  Beginning 
with calendar year 2011, increases the taxable wage base to $9,500. 
 
Reduces the standard contribution rate to 5.6 percent for calendar year 2010 (previously 12.0 
percent).  Beginning with calendar year 2011, increases the standard contribution rate to 12.0 
percent.  (Effective January 1, 2010.) 
 
Increases the new employer rate to 2.7% (previously 2.5%) for calendar year 2010.  Beginning 
with calendar year 2011, the new employer rate decreases to 2.5%.  (Effective January 1, 2010.)   
 
Requires employers, during calendar year 2010, to pay a rate of not less than 5.6 percent if:  (1) 
the required contribution and wage reports are not filed within 31 days following the 
computation date and (2) all contributions, penalties and interest due have not been paid within 
the specified time frame.  Beginning with calendar year 2011, an employer’s rate shall be 
increased by 2 percent if the required contribution and wage reports are not filed within 31 days 
following the computation date and all contributions, penalties and interest due have not been 
paid within the specified time frame.  (Effective January 2, 2010.) 
 
Reduces the contribution rate for governmental entities to 1 percent for calendar year 2010.  
Beginning with calendar year 2011, increases the new employer rate for state and political 
subdivisions to 1.6 percent.  (Effective January 1, 2010.) 



 
Provides for the calculation of 2010 employer contribution rates using one of four schedules (A, 
B, C, or D) with rates ranging from 1.1 percent to 5.6 percent under schedule A to 0.1 percent to 
5.4 percent under schedule D.  Establishes new fund ratio schedules and new rate schedules 
(which include additional schedules and different ranges of rates for accounts with credit or debit 
balances) for calendar years after December 31, 2010.  Rates for new schedules range from 0.75 
percent to 10.2 percent for schedule A and 0.0 percent to 5.4 percent for schedule I.  Requires 
schedule B will be used for calendar year 2011 to assign each employer’s contribution rate.   
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that payments made by a court system for jury service are not deductible income.   
 
Nonmonetary Entitlement 
 
Deletes the requirement for claimant to submit one application for work in each week claiming 
benefits.  (Effective July 1, 2010) 
 
Provides that an individual may not be denied benefits for any week or determined not able, 
available, and actively seeking work because the individual is responding to a summons for jury 
service.  Requires court proof of jury service be provided to the Department.  (Effective July 1, 
2010.) 
 
KENTUCKY  HB 5a     ENACTED June 4, 2010  
   (CH 5)    EFFECTIVE July 15, 2010, or as noted 
 
Financing
 
Increases, effective for calendar year 2012, the taxable wage base from $8,000 to $9,000 which 
shall increase by an additional $300 on January 1 of each subsequent year to 2022, not to exceed 
$12,000. 
 
Changes the trust fund trigger date (the date the funds balance is determined) from December 31 
to September 30. 
 
Changes the computation date (the end of the period used to determine the employer’s 
experience) from October 31 to July 31. 
 
Changes the date the reserve ratio will be determined from September 30 to June 30 immediately 
preceding the computation date. 
 
Provides that the applicable rate schedule for the year is based on the trust fund balance as of 
September 30 (previously December 31). 
 
Changes the amount of money required in the trust fund to effectuate Schedules A, B, and C of 
Table A as follows.  If the trust fund balance: 



 
• equals or exceeds $500,000,000 (previously $350,000,000) but is less than the amount 

required to trigger the Trust Fund Adequacy Rates, the rates in Schedule A shall be in 
effect; 

 
• equals or exceeds $350,000,000 (previously $275,000,000) but is less than $500,000,000 

(previously $350,000,000), the rates listed in Schedule B shall be in effect; and 
 

• equals or exceeds $250,000,000 but is less than $350,000,000 (previously $275,000,000), 
the rates listed in Schedule C shall be in effect. 

 
Charges reimbursable nonprofit organizations and reimbursable governmental entities on a 
quarterly basis or any other period determined by the Secretary, the interest due on the total 
amount billed for regular benefits and extended benefits which shall be credited to the 
unemployment insurance fund. 

Provides that effective January 1, 2012, any subject contributing employer with a negative 
reserve account balance may make voluntary payments to the fund every other calendar year, in 
addition to the contributions required (previously, employers with a negative reserve account 
could make voluntary contributions annually.)  

Monetary Entitlement 
 
Establishes a waiting week, applicable to initial claims made on or after January 1, 2012, and 
which is required for each benefit year whether or not consecutive.  The waiting week becomes 
compensable once the remaining balance on the claim is equal to or less than the compensable 
amount for the waiting week. 
 
Calculates the weekly benefit rate, except as otherwise provided, as 1.3078 percent of base 
period wages, (previously, 1.185 percent of base period wages) except that no weekly benefit 
amount shall be less than $39, nor more than the maximum rate.  Effective with claims on or 
after January 1, 2012, the calculation of the weekly benefit rate, except as otherwise provided, 
shall be 1.1923 percent of base period wages, except that no weekly benefit amount shall be less 
than $39, nor more than the maximum rate. 
 
Changes the amount required in the trust fund to determine the maximum weekly benefit rate 
(MWBR) as follows.  If the trust fund balance as of September 30 immediately preceding the 
benefit year: 
 

• equals or exceeds $120,000,000, but is less than $200,000,000 (previously 
$150,000,000), the MWBR shall not exceed the prior year's MWBR by more than 6 
percent. 

 
• equals or exceeds $200,000,000 (previously $150,000,000) but is less than $300,000,000, 

(previously $250,000,000), the MWBR shall not exceed the prior year's MWBR by more 
than 8 percent. 



 
• equals or exceeds $300,000,000 (previously $250,000,000), but is less than $400,000,000 

(previously $275,000,000), the MWBR shall not exceed the prior year's MWBR by more 
than 10 percent. 

 
• equals or exceeds $400,000,000 (previously $275,000,000), but is less than $500,000,000 

(previously $350,000,000), the MWBR shall not exceed the prior year's MWBR by more 
than 12 percent. 

 
• equals or exceeds $500,000,000, the MWBR shall not exceed the prior year's MWBR by 

more than 15 percent.   
 
MARYLAND  SB 107  ENACTED AND EFFECTIVE March 25, 2010, 

(CH 2)  or as noted 
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Provides that all individuals who have exhausted all rights to regular unemployment 
compensation, and who are enrolled in and making satisfactory progress in a job training 
program approved by the department or authorized under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 
shall be entitled to an additional amount of benefits equal to 26 times their average weekly 
benefit amount for the most recent benefit year.  Such training programs shall prepare 
individuals who have been separated from a declining occupation or who have been involuntarily 
separated from employment due to a permanent reduction in operations at their place of 
employment for entry into a high-demand occupation.  Individuals may not be denied from 
receiving additional training benefits under the available for work and actively seeking work 
provisions.  Limits the payment of additional training benefits to 1 year following the end of the 
benefit year.  (Effective March 1, 2011, applicable to all claims filed establishing a new benefit 
year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
Financing 
 
Noncharges contributing employers’ accounts for additional training benefits paid to claimants.  
(Effective March 1, 2011, applicable to all claims filed establishing a new benefit year on or after 
March 6, 2011.) 
 
Provides that the taxable wage base remains at $8,500 for calendar years 2011 and 2012. 
 
Notwithstanding the 1.5 percent interest rate, and except as otherwise provided, for any calendar 
year in which Table F is applicable, a contribution or reimbursement payment due and unpaid 
shall accrue interest at the rate of 0.5 percent per month or part of a month from the date due 
until the contribution or payment in lieu of contribution and the interest are received.  The 0.5 
percent interest rate is applicable for calendar years 2010 and 2011.  (Applicable to contributions 
on taxable wages for covered employment beginning on or after January 1, 2012.) 
 



Requires the department during calendar years 2010 and 2011 to offer a variety of payment plan 
options to employers.  These payment options must allow contributions due on taxable wages for 
the first 9 months of the calendar year to be paid through December.  The department is to 
implement regulations offering employers a payment plan for any calendar year after 2011 in 
which employer contributions are to be calculated using Table F.  These payment plans must 
allow payments for contributions due for the first 6 months of the year to be spread through 
August of that year. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that if individuals would not be eligible for benefits because of use of a base period 
consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters, then their eligibility shall be 
determined using a base period that includes the last 4 completed calendar quarters.  (Effective 
March 1, 2011, applicable for claims filed establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 
2011.)  
 
Increases the minimum weekly benefit amount from $25 to $50; the minimum qualifying wages 
needed in the base period to qualify for the minimum weekly benefit amount from $900 to 
$1,800; and the high quarter wages needed in the base period to qualify for the minimum weekly 
benefit amount from $576.01 to $1,176.01.  Increases the maximum weekly benefit amount from 
$410 to $430; the minimum qualifying wages needed in the base period to qualify for the 
maximum weekly benefit amount from $14,760 to $15,480; and the high quarter wages needed 
in the base period to qualify for the maximum weekly benefit amount from $9,816.01 to 
$10,296.01.  (Effective March 1, 2012, applicable to claims filed establishing a new benefit year 
on or after March 4, 2012.)  
 
Provides that any wages exceeding $50 (previously exceeding $100) per week will be subtracted 
from the claimant’s weekly benefit amount.  (Effective March 1, 2011, applicable to claims filed 
establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 2011.)  
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Changes the definition of part-time worker from an individual whose availability for work is 
restricted to part-time work and who works predominantly on a part-time basis throughout the 
year for at least 20 hours per week to an individual whose availability for work is restricted to 
part-time work and who worked at least 20 hours per week in part-time work for a majority of 
the weeks of work in the base period.  (Effective March 1, 2011, applicable for claims filed 
establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
Provides that a part-time worker may not be ineligible from receiving benefits for a week in 
which the part-time worker is available for and seeking only part-time work if the part-time 
worker is actively seeking part-time work and is in a labor market in which a reasonable demand 
exists for part-time work.  An individual is seeking only part-time work if the individual is able 
to work hours that are comparable to the individual’s work at the time of the most recent 
separation from part-time employment and at least 20 hours per week.  Previous legislation 
provided that a part-time worker shall be able to, available for work, and actively seeking work, 



and is eligible to receive benefits if (1) eligibility is based on wages predominantly earned from 
part-time work; (2) the worker is actively seeking part-time work, is available for part-time work 
for at least the number of hours worked at the previous employment, and does not impose any 
other restrictions on the ability to work or availability for work; and (3) is in a labor market in 
which a reasonable demand exists for part-time work.  (Effective March 1, 2011, applicable for 
claims filed establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
Provides that the disqualification for gross misconduct continues until the individual earned 
wages in covered employment equal to at least 25 (previously 20) times the claimant’s weekly 
benefit amount.  (Effective March 1, 2011, applicable to claims filed establishing a new benefit 
year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
Provides that the disqualification for misconduct continues for a total of at least 10 to 15 weeks 
(previously 5 to 10 weeks) based on the seriousness of the misconduct.  (Effective March 1, 
2011, applicable to claims filed establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
Deletes the provision in current law allowing an individual who is eligible for unemployment 
insurance benefits and who has registered for work and who subsequently becomes ill or 
disabled after filing for benefits to continue to receive unemployment insurance benefits if the 
individual is unable to work or to seek work due to the illness or disability.  (Effective March 1, 
2011, applicable to all claims filed establishing a new benefit year on or after March 6, 2011.) 
 
MINNESOTA SB 2510  ENACTED May 15, 2010 
   (CH 347)  EFFECTIVE May 16, 2010, or as noted 
 
Administration 
 
Penalizes an employer if that employer or any employee, officer, or agent of that employer 
offered employment to an applicant when, in fact, employment was unavailable, but only if the 
employer’s action was to prevent or reduce payment of unemployment benefits, to reduce or 
avoid any payment required from an employer, or cause an overpayment of unemployment 
benefits.  The penalty is the greater of $500 or 50 percent of the overpaid or reduced 
unemployment benefits or payment required. 
 
Coverage 
 
Excludes from “coverage” employment for a personal care assistance provider agency by an 
immediate family member of a recipient who provides the direct care to the recipient through the 
personal care assistance program. 
 
Defines “staffing service” as an employer whose business involves employing individuals 
directly for the purpose of furnishing temporary assignment workers to clients of the staffing 
service. 
 
Provides that contracts obtaining a taxpaying employer’s workforce must include coverage of 
corporate officers for the duration of the contract.  (Effective May 16, 2010.) 



 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Establishes a special state extended unemployment insurance program which pays benefits to 
applicants not qualifying under the federal-state extended benefits (EB) program solely because 
of not meeting the earnings requirement of at least 40 times the applicant’s weekly benefit 
amount.  All other requirements under the federal-state EB program must be met to be eligible 
for special state extended unemployment insurance benefits.  Special state extended 
unemployment insurance benefits are payable in the same amounts, for the same duration, and 
for the same time period as provided for under the federal-state EB program, except the 
maximum amount is reduced by the amount of special state emergency unemployment 
compensation.  Special state extended unemployment insurance benefits are payable from the 
trust fund.  The special state extended unemployment insurance program is effective June 30, 
2010, and expires on March 26, 2011, and no benefits may be paid under this program for a 
week beginning after that date. 
 
Provides that notwithstanding the June 30, 2010, expiration of the special state extended 
unemployment compensation program, if an applicant has filed for special state extended 
unemployment compensation for a week beginning prior to June 30, 2010, but has not exhausted 
the maximum amount available, the applicant may continue to receive special state extended 
unemployment compensation benefits up to the determined maximum.  This provision expires 
March 26, 2011, and no benefits may be paid under this program for a week beginning after that 
date. 
 
Financing 
 
Provides that the special state extended unemployment insurance benefits must not be used in 
computing the future unemployment insurance tax rate of a taxpaying employer, and they must 
not be charged to the reimbursing account of government or nonprofit employers.  (Effective 
June 30, 2010, and expires March 26, 2011.) 
 
Amends the tax rate provisions by providing that the base tax rate of 0.4 of one percent will be 
applicable if the trust fund is less than 0.55 percent, but has a positive balance.  Additionally, a 
new base tax rate of 0.5 of one percent will be applicable if the trust fund has a negative balance 
and is borrowing from the federal unemployment trust fund in order to pay unemployment 
benefits. 
 
Deletes the provisions regarding the falling trust fund adjustment to the base tax rate.  
 
Changes the computation of the tax rate for new taxpaying employers in a high experience rating 
industry who do not qualify for an experience rating from 8.0 percent plus the applicable base 
tax rate and any additional assessments to the higher of that provided for new taxpaying 
employers not in a high experience rating industry or the tax rate computed to the nearest one 
hundredth of a percent plus the applicable base tax rate and any additional assessments. 
  



Cancels the 25 percent surcharge on voluntary contributions for calendar years 2011, 2012, and 
2013. 
  
Removes the requirement that a state or political subdivision must file a notice of election to 
become a taxpaying employer within 30 calendar days following January 1of a calendar year.  
Removes the requirement that a state or political subdivision must file a notice terminating the 
election to become a taxpaying employer no later than 30 calendar days before the beginning of 
the calendar year.  Instead, after filing of the notice, the election or termination is effective at the 
beginning of the next calendar quarter.  (Effective November 30, 2010.) 
 
Removes the requirement that a nonprofit organization must file a notice of election to become a 
taxpaying employer no later than 30 calendar days before January 1 of any calendar year.  
Instead, once a notice of election is filed, the election is effective at the beginning of the next 
calendar quarter.  Provides that a nonprofit organization electing to become a reimbursing 
employer will continue to be liable for reimbursements until it files a notice terminating its 
election.  The termination notice must be filed before the beginning of the calendar quarter the 
termination is to be effective.  (Effective November 30, 2010.) 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that if an applicant establishes a new benefit account within 39 weeks of the expiration 
of the benefit year on a prior benefit account, notwithstanding other provisions of law, the 
weekly benefit amount on the new benefit account will not be less than 80 percent of the weekly 
benefit amount on the prior benefit account.  (Applicable to benefit accounts effective May 16, 
2010, and expires the earlier of (1) the effective date of any federal legislation allowing 
continued collection of federal emergency unemployment compensation, notwithstanding the 
applicant qualifying for a new regular state benefit account; or (2) June 30, 2011.) 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that employment is not considered suitable if the employment is with a staffing service 
and less than 45 percent of the applicant’s wage credits are from a job assignment with the client 
of a staffing service. 
 
Provides that a job assignment with a staffing service is considered suitable only if 45 percent or 
more of the applicant’s wage credits are from a job assignment with the client of a staffing 
service and the job assignment meets the definition of suitable employment. 
 
Provides that actively seeking a suitable job assignment or other employment with a staffing 
service is considered actively seeking suitable employment. 
 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that individuals who received unemployment benefits in 2009 shall not be determined 
overpaid because of receipt of vacation pay in 2009 which was earned in 2008 under a collective 



bargaining agreement with an employer located in Hibbing that had layoffs in May 2009 of over 
400 workers.  (Effective May 16, 2010.) 
 
MISSISSIPPI  HB 1718  ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 8, 2010 
   (CH 504)      
 
Financing 
 
Permits new employers and employers meeting certain criteria to participate in the Mississippi 
Level Payment Plan (MLPP).  Employers electing to participate pay contributions according to 
the MLPP pay schedule instead of on or before the last day of the month after each calendar 
quarter. 
 
Increases the taxable wage base from $7,000 to $14,000, beginning January 1, 2011, and 
thereafter. 
 
Decreases the contribution rate for new employers from 2.7 percent to 2.4 percent through 
December 31, 2010.   Beginning January 1, 2011, the new employer rate shall be 1.0 percent for 
the first year of liability, 1.1 percent for the second year of liability, and 1.2 percent for the third 
and subsequent years of liability; however, once an employer’s experience rating account has 
been chargeable for 12 consecutive calendar months only on the most recent computation date, 
employers’ rate shall be determined on their experience. 
 
Eliminates, beginning on and after January 1, 2010, the 0.3 percent reduction in contribution 
rates for employers whose assigned contribution rate equals or is less than 5.4 percent.  Removes 
the table used to reduce contribution rates. 
 
Provides that the Workforce Enhancement Training Contribution shall be assessed at a rate of 
0.3 percent through December 31, 2010.  In calendar year 2011, and each year thereafter, the 
Workforce Enhancement Training Contribution shall be assessed at a rate of 0.15 percent.  
Training contributions shall be reduced as necessary to prevent any employer from having a 
combined rate greater than 5.4 percent.  Suspends for rate years beginning January 1, 2010, the 
Workforce Enhancement Training Contributions if the insured unemployment rate (IUR) 
exceeds an average of 5.5 percent for 3 consecutive months immediately preceding the effective 
date of the new rate year and shall remain suspended throughout the duration of that rate year.  
The suspension continues until the 3 consecutive months immediately preceding the effective 
date of any subsequent rate year has an IUR of less than an average of 4.5 percent. 
 
Provides that beginning January 1, 2010, the target “size of fund index” (SOFI) will be fixed at 
1.0.  If the IUR exceeds a 4.5 percent average for the most recent completed July to June period, 
the target SOFI will be 0.8 and remains at 0.8 until the computed SOFI equals 1.0 or the average 
IUR falls to 4.5 percent or less for any July to June period.  If the IUR falls below 2.5 percent for 
any July to June period, the target SOFI shall be 1.2 until the computed SOFI is equal to or 
greater than 1.0, or the IUR is equal to or greater than 2.5 percent at which point the target SOFI 
returns to 1.0. 
 



Provides that beginning on and after January 1, 2010, no employer’s unemployment contribution 
rate shall be less than 0.4 percent (previously 0.1 percent). 
 
Provides that after calendar year 2010, the general experience rate in no event shall be less than 
0.2 percent.  For any year the general experience rate is computed as an amount less than 0.2 
percent, such rate shall be established at 0.2 percent. 
 
Changes the rate that a reimbursing political subdivision may elect to pay from 0.5 percent to 
0.25 percent of taxable wages, effective January 1, 2011, in order to be relieved of benefit 
charges that would have been noncharged had the political subdivision opted to be contributory. 
 
Changes the rate that political subdivisions electing to pay contributions shall pay from 2.0 
percent of taxable wages to 1.0 percent, effective January 1, 2011. 
 
Changes the amount of the surety bond that nonprofit organizations electing to reimburse the 
fund must file from 2.7 percent to 1.35 percent, effective January 1, 2011. 
 
NEW HAMPSHIRE  SB 501        ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 11, 2010, 

(CH 28)      or as noted      
 

Extensions and Special Programs   
 
Creates a worksharing program.  Requires employers to submit an agreement that meets specific 
criteria in order to be approved by the Commissioner: 

• reduction of hours may not be less than 10 percent or more than 50 percent and 
must be spread equally among employees in the unit; 

• health benefits must continue to be provided; retirement contributions shall be 
made based on hours worked;  and the effect of reduction on other fringe benefits 
must be identified; 

• plan shall not be more than 26 weeks and include start and end dates.   
 

Provides that the worksharing benefit amount shall be the weekly benefit amount multiplied by 
the percentage of the work reduction, rounded down; will be reduced by remuneration received 
from any work for a non-worksharing employer that exceeds 30 percent of the maximum benefit 
rate in effect; may not exceed maximum benefit amount.  Individuals meeting the criteria will be 
eligible for extended benefits. 
 
Financing 
 
Provides that worksharing benefits shall be charged to the employer. 
 
OKLAHOMA  SB 1970    ENACTED June 6, 2010 
    (CH 344)    EFFECTIVE July 1, 2010 
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 



Creates the Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program.   
 
Requires an approved shared work plan to reduce the normal weekly hours of work for an 
employee in an affected unit by not less than 20 percent and not more than 40 percent. 
 
Requires an employer to maintain the fringe benefits of each employee in the affected unit at the 
benefit level in effect before the shared work plan is implemented. 
 
Prohibits an employer from implementing a shared work plan to subsidize seasonal workers or 
employees who work less than 32 hours per week. 
 
Provides that employers with an experience tax rate of 5.4 percent or greater for a calendar year 
are ineligible to participate in the Shared Work Unemployment Compensation Program for that 
calendar year. 
 
Provides for an expiration date on the last day of the twelfth full calendar month after the 
effective date of the shared work plan. 
 
Limits shared work benefits to a maximum of 26 weeks during the twelve consecutive calendar 
months that the shared work plan is in effect.  
 
Allows the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission to terminate a shared work plan for 
good cause. 
 
Provides that no shared work benefit payment shall be made under any shared work plan for any 
week which commences before January 1, 2011.  
 
SOUTH CAROLINA SB 391   ENACTED June 3, 2010 

(Act No.  234) EFFECTIVE January 1, 2011, or as noted 
 
Administration 
 
Creates the Division of Employment Service and the Division of Unemployment Compensation 
within the Department of Employment and Workforce. 
 
Appeals 
 
Establishes a mandatory retirement age (72) for members of the Employment and Workforce 
Appellate Panel and provides limitations for candidates seeking positions on the Panel. 
 
Financing 
 
Changes employer experience rating system from a reserve ratio to a benefit ratio system.  For 
the period of January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2013,  provides that the benefit ratio is 
calculated annually to the sixth decimal place on July 1 by dividing the average of all benefits 
charged during the 40 calendar quarters (10 years) preceding the calculation date by the 



employer’s average taxable payroll during the same period.  Beginning with calendar year 2014, 
the benefit ratio will be determined using 12 calendar quarters (3 years) or using available data if 
employer has fewer than 12 quarters.  (Previously all prior benefits and wages were used.) 
 
Provides that the average required rate will be determined by dividing the income needed to pay 
benefits and reach the solvency target by the estimated taxable wages for the calendar year.   
 
For each calendar year the trust fund is in debt status, requires the department to estimate, with 
specified procedures, the amount of income needed to pay benefits for that year, the amount 
necessary to avoid automatic FUTA credit reductions and an amount necessary to repay all 
outstanding federal loans within 5 years; requires interest costs to be determined concurrently.  
After the trust fund returns to solvency, requires the department to promulgate regulations 
regarding the income needed to pay benefits each year and to return the trust fund to an adequate 
target level (fund adequacy target means an average high-cost multiple of one).   
 
Establishes a system to group employers in a 20 class array system based on their benefit ratio, 
with lowest to highest, to determine their contribution rate.  Requires each class must have 5 
percent of the total taxable wages (excluding reimbursable wages) paid in covered employment 
during the 4 completed calendar quarters preceding the computation date.  The rate for class one 
must be zero and the class 20 rate must be at least 5.4 percent.  If the benefit rate for class 20 
exceeds 5.4 percent, the rate for each preceding class shall be equal to 90 percent of the rate 
calculated for the succeeding class, except that class 12 shall be set at 25 percent of the rate 
calculated for class 20.  If the computed rate for class 20 is less than 5.4 percent, the rate for 
class 20 shall be 5.4 percent and: 
 

• the rate for class 12 must be calculated by multiplying the average tax rate needed to 
achieve solvency by 20, subtracting by 5.4 percent and then dividing by 19; 

• class 11 through 1 must be equal to 90 percent of the rate for the succeeding class, 
provided the rate for class 1 shall be 0; 

• the rate for class 13 must be equal to 120 percent of the rate calculated for class 12; and 
• the rate for class 19 must be set at an amount that allows for average contributions, 

beginning at class 18 and ending with class 14, that are equal to 90 percent of the 
preceding class.    

 
If an employer qualifies for two classes, he will be afforded the lower rate.  Employers with 
identical ratios will be assigned the same class.  Employers with less than 12 consecutive months 
of coverage must have a base rate of at least class 13. 
 
Requires a surcharge on all employers when the Trust Fund is insolvent to pay interest on the 
outstanding debt calculated by dividing the estimated interest by the taxable payroll rounded to 
the next higher one hundredth of one percent. 
 
Changes the taxable wage base from $7,000 to $10,000 for calendar year 2011 and for calendar 
years 2012-2014, the wage base will be $12,000.  Beginning with calendar year 2015, the wage 
base will be $14,000.   
 



Monetary Entitlement 
 
Changes the qualifying requirement for monetary eligibility (definition of insured worker) to 
$4,455 in the base period and $1,092 in the high quarter (from $900 in the base period and $540 
in the high quarter).   
 
Changes the minimum weekly benefit amount from $20 to $42.   
 
Effective June 1, 2010, provides that if individuals would not be eligible for benefits because of 
use of a base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters, then their 
eligibility shall be determined using a base period that includes the last 4 completed calendar 
quarters.    
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that individuals shall not be denied from receiving benefits under provisions relating to 
availability for work, active search for work, or refusal to accept work solely because they are 
seeking only part-time work if a majority of the weeks of work in their base period includes part-
time work. 
 
Provides that individuals shall not be disqualified from receiving benefits due to separation from 
employment if that separation is for a compelling family reason.  Compelling family reason 
means: 
  

• domestic violence verified by documentation which causes individuals to reasonably 
believe continued employment would jeopardize their or immediate family members 
safety;  

• the illness or disability of a member of the individuals’ immediate family; or  
• the need for individuals to accompany their spouse to a place from which it is impractical 

for them to commute and due to a change in location of the spouse’s employment.  
 
 
UTAH  HB 43    ENACTED MARCH 29, 2010 
  (CH 293)   EFFECTIVE May 9, 2010, or as noted 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Changes the formula calculating the weekly benefit amount from 1/26th, disregarding any 
fraction of $1, of insured wages paid in the base period’s highest quarter to 1/26th minus $5, 
disregarding any fraction of $1 of insured wages paid in the base period’s highest quarter.  
(Applicable to benefit years beginning on or after December 12, 2010.) 
 
Changes the formula calculating the maximum weekly benefit amount payable from 62.5 percent 
of the insured average fiscal year weekly wage during the preceding fiscal year, disregarding any 
fraction of $1 to 62.5 percent of the insured average fiscal year weekly wage during the 



preceding fiscal year minus $5, disregarding any fraction of $1.  (Applicable to benefit years 
beginning on or after December 12, 2010.) 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Changes the offset for receipt of social security benefits against unemployment compensation 
from 50 percent to 0.0 percent.  (Applicable to benefit years beginning on or after December 12, 
2010.)  (Previously, the 50 percent offset applied to benefit years ending on or before July 1, 
2011. 
 
UTAH  SB 10      ENACTED March 26, 2010 
  (CH 193)     EFFECTIVE November 1, 2010 
 
Administration 
 
Increases the penalties for persons or officers or agents of an employing unit who are guilty of 
unemployment insurance fraud as follows: 
 

• Class B misdemeanor when the value of the money is less than $500 (previously $300); 
 
• Class A misdemeanor when the value of the money is or exceeds $500 (previously $300) 

but is less than $1,500 (previously $1,000); or 
 

• Third degree felony when the value of the money is or exceeds $1,500 (previously 
$1,000) but is less than $5,000. 

 
VERMONT SB 290   ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 24, 2010, 
  (Act No. 124)  or as noted  
 
Administration 
 
Requires the Department to implement reemployment services and a policy that prioritizes 
claimants for such services, effective July 1, 2010. 
 
Financing 
 
Increases the taxable wage base from $10,000 to $13,000 for calendar year 2011 and to $16,000 
for calendar year 2012.  After January 1, 2012, whenever the unemployment compensation fund 
has a positive balance and all Title XII advances to the state unemployment compensation fund 
have been repaid as of June 1, the taxable wage base shall be adjusted on January 1 of the 
following year by the same percentage as any increase in the state annual average wage.  When 
contribution rate schedule I or III is in effect, the taxable wage base shall be reduced by $2,000 
the following January 1 and shall be adjusted annually thereafter on January 1 of the following 
year by the same percentage as any increase in the state annual average wage.  (Effective July 1, 
2010.) 
 



Provides that an employing unit failing to submit separation information is not relieved of 
charges for benefits before the week following receipt of such information, effective July 1, 
2010.  Previous law provided that if an employing unit fails to submit separation information an 
employer’s experience rating record shall not be relieved of charges unless within 30 days after 
notice the employer files an appeal from the determination and the determination is ultimately 
reversed.   
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Adjusts the $425 maximum weekly benefit amount on the first day of the first calendar week of 
July by a percentage equal to the percentage change during the preceding calendar year in the 
state average weekly wage when the state unemployment compensation fund has a positive 
balance and all Title XII advances to such fund have been repaid as of December 31, of the last 
completed calendar year.  When contribution rate schedule III is in effect, the maximum weekly 
benefit amount shall be adjusted on the first day of the first calendar week of July to an amount 
equal to 57 percent of the state annual average wage.  The maximum weekly benefit amount 
shall not increase in any year that Title XII advances remain unpaid.  (Effective July 1, 2011.) 
 
Provides that individuals who elect to have federal income tax deducted and withheld from 
unemployment insurance benefits shall have state income tax withheld at 24 percent of the 
Federal rate. 
 
Changes the maximum total amount of benefits payable (benefit entitlement) from 26 times an 
individual’s weekly benefit amount to the lesser of 26 times an individual’s weekly benefit 
amount or 46 percent of the total base period wages paid.  Limits the benefit entitlement when 
discharged by the last employing unit for misconduct connected with the work to the lesser of the 
amount computed in the previous sentence or 23 times an individual’s weekly benefit amount, 
provided that the individual has not already received more than 23 weeks in the benefit year.  
(Effective July 1, 2011.)  
 
Provides that to be eligible to receive benefits (including short-time compensation benefits) a 
totally or partially unemployed individual must serve a 1-week waiting period during the benefit 
year and any extended eligibility period, effective July 1, 2012.  Repeals the 1-week waiting 
period, effective July 1, 2017, or when the balance of the unemployment compensation fund has 
a positive balance, whichever is later. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Cancels those wages in the base period paid by an employing unit from which an individual was 
separated due to gross misconduct. (Effective July 1, 2011.) 
 
Provides that in determining if available for work during any week, an individual may be 
required to participate in reemployment services. 
 



Disqualifies individuals for 6-15 (previously 6-12) weeks immediately following the filing of a 
claim (in addition to the waiting period) due to a discharge for misconduct from their last 
employer. 
 
Defines “gross misconduct” to mean conduct directly related to the employee’s work 
performance that demonstrates a flagrant, wanton, and intentional disregard of the employer’s 
business interest, and that has direct and significant impact upon the employer’s business 
interest, including but not limited to theft, fraud, intoxication, intentional serious damage to 
property, intentional infliction of personal injury, any conduct that constitutes a felony or 
repeated incidents after written warning of either unprovoked insubordination or public use of 
profanity. 
 
WYOMING  SB 23    ENACTED March 8, 2010 

(CH. 66)   EFFECTIVE July 1, 2010 
 
Administration 
 
Allows the department to conduct and publish statistical analysis of payroll and employment of 
state agencies within the executive branch which may reveal the identity of state agency 
employing units. 
 
Financing 
 
Requires the department to consolidate the separate accounts and benefit experience of an 
employer who acquires the trade, business, organization or substantially all the assets of an 
employer.  The new contribution rate will be effective the first day of the calendar quarter 
following the date of acquisition. 
 
Expands the penalty for failure to make required payments, assessments of interest and penalties 
within 90 days of receipt of a bill to all reimbursing employers (previously specified Indian 
Tribe.)   
 
Allows the department to enter into an agreement for installment payments for delinquent tax 
and interest liabilities where repayment requirements are met and a lump sum payment would 
cause severe inconvenience to the taxpayer. 
 
Requires certain employers with a construction cost equal to or greater than the threshold 
construction cost defined by the industrial siting council (previously a construction cost of $100 
million) to be assessed payments for an incremental bond.   
 
Overpayments 
 
Changes the alternative start date for the 52 week disqualification period for fraud from the date 
that notice of the overpayment determination or decision is mailed to the claimant to beginning 
the week following the date that notice of the overpayment is mailed to the claimant. 
 



Allows individuals to repay overpaid benefits through a voluntary reimbursement agreement, and 
the department may accept repayment without civil action pursuant to an approved payment 
schedule.   
 
Changes the time period for cancelation of overpayments or penalties to 8 years from the 
effective date of the claim resulting in overpayment (previously 5 years) when certain conditions 
are met. 
 
 
 


