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ARIZONA SB 1472 

(CH 212) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 25, 2005 

Coverage

Establishes provisions relating to professional employer organizations (PEOs), which among 
other things, require that beginning March 1, 2006, every PEO in Arizona must file an initial 
registration with the Secretary of State, pay a registration fee, and either maintain a net 
worth of $100,000 or obtain a bond or securities worth $100,000. 
 
Defines "professional employer services" to mean the service of entering into a co-
employment relationship in which all or a majority of the employees who provide services 
to a client or to a division or work unit of the client are covered employees.  
 
Requires a client to be solely responsible for directing, supervising, training and controlling 
the work of covered employees with respect to the business activities of the client. 
 
Provides that unless otherwise expressly agreed to by a client in a professional 
employment agreement, a client shall maintain the right to direct and control the 
professional or licensed activities of the covered employees and the client's business.  
 
Provides that a covered employee who is required to be licensed, registered or certified 
under the laws of Arizona will be deemed an employee of the client for purposes of the 
license, registration or certification requirement.  

Financing

Requires the PEO to pay the wages of covered employees, to withhold, collect, report and 
remit payroll-related and unemployment taxes and to make payment for employee benefits 
for covered employees. 
 
Requires a PEO to report and pay all required contributions to the unemployment 
compensation fund using the state employer account number and the contribution rate of 
the PEO.  
 
Provides that for the purposes of tax credits and any other economic incentives provided by 
Arizona that are based on employment, covered employees will be deemed employees of 
either the client or the PEO; either the client or the PEO, but not both, will be entitled to 
the benefit of any tax credit, economic incentive or any other benefit resulting from the 
employment of covered employees of the client; if the amount of any credit or incentive is 
based on the number of employees, only the covered employees who actually work for the 



client will be considered employed, and the covered employees who work for other clients 
of the PEO will not be considered.  
 
Provides for civil penalties when a person knowingly provides false or fraudulent 
information, collects certain payments and fails to remit the funds, fraudulently or falsely 
procures or attempts to procure services or benefits from a registered PEO without having 
adequate monies to compensate the PEO, wilfully fails to comply with any requirement, 
and knowingly makes a material misrepresentation. 
 
Provides that on termination of a contract between a PEO and a client or the failure by a 
PEO to submit reports or make tax payments as required, the client will be treated as a 
new employer without a previous experience record if the client has been subject to a 
professional employer agreement for at least 2 years or if the client is not otherwise 
eligible for an experience rating.  
 
ARKANSAS SB 512 

(Act No. 902) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 17, 2005 

Appeals

Increases from 20 to 30 calendar days after mailing or delivery of the notice an employing 
unit has to appeal the director's administrative determination of coverage. 

Financing

Modifies the provision concerning experience rates by providing that any employer having 
no covered employment for any calendar year will have a rate equal to his or her most 
recently-determined contribution rate until, immediately preceding the computation date, 
the employer has 1 full year of benefit risk experience. 
 
Modifies the provision concerning the computation of experience rates by prohibiting 
employers from making a voluntary payment to the Unemployment Compensation Fund, if 
their contribution rate increases because of knowingly violating or attempting to violate 
state law regarding transfers of experience and assignment rates. 
 
Changes from using the 2-digit standard industrial classification code to using the 3-digit 
North American Industry Classification code with respect to the transfer of experience. 
 
Requires the interest and penalty payments with respect to transfers of experience and 
assignments rates be credited to the Employment Security Special Fund. 
 
Provides that civil actions brought with respect to transfers of experience and assignment 
rates to collect contributions or interest will be heard by the court at the earliest possible 
date and will be entitled to preference on the court calendar over all civil actions except 
petitions for judicial review and cases arising under the Workers’ Compensation Law. 
 
Requires through June 30, 2005, that a bonded-lessor employing unit report all clients' 
wages on the lessor employing unit's quarterly contribution and wage report using its 
contribution rate, account number, and federal identification number; requires that 
quarterly contribution and wage reports for all clients obtained by bonded-lessor employing 
units on or after July 1, 2005, must be reported separately for each of its clients using the 
clients' account number and unemployment contribution rate for 3 consecutive years; after 
reporting client's wages for 3 consecutive years, a bonded-lessor employing unit must 
report client wages on the lessor employing unit's quarterly contribution and wage report 



using the lessor employing unit's contribution rate, account number, and federal 
identification number. 
 
Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Disqualifies an individual for benefits for voluntarily leaving work without good cause 
connected with the work for leaving last work to comply with the order of a correctional 
institution or to satisfy the terms of parole or probation. 
 
Modifies the provision concerning disqualification for refusal to report after a layoff by 
providing that the time frame of a layoff is 10 weeks or less.  

Overpayments

Amends the provision concerning recovery of overpayment to provide that when an 
overpayment becomes final the director must present a certificate of overpayment 
describing the amount owed by the claimant to the circuit clerk of the county where the 
claimant is domiciled; requires the circuit clerk to enter the certificate of overpayment in 
the docket of the circuit court for judgments and decrees and note the time of the filing of 
the certificate; provides that after the entry, the certificate of overpayment will have the 
force and effect of a judgment of the circuit court and will bear interest at the rate of 10 
percent annually. 
 
INDIANA SB 612 

(P.L. 98) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 26, 2005 

Coverage

Excludes from the definition of employment an owner-operator that provides a motor 
vehicle and the services of a driver to a motor carrier under a written contract. 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 



existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law. 

 
INDIANA SB 536 

(CH 27) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 11, 2005 

Financing

Transfers administration of the Skills 2016 Training Program, the Skills 2016 Training Fund 
(Fund), and all Fund money from the Department of Workforce Development (Department) 
to the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (Corporation); requires the Corporation 
to enter into agreements with the Department for the Department to administer the fund 
and to administer the fund using money appropriated from the fund. 
 
Removes the requirements that 50 percent of money in the Fund be allocated to the state 
educational institution and that certain amounts of such money be allocated and used for 
specific purposes; establishes how the money in the Fund will be allocated and requires 
that special consideration be given to the state educational institution to be the provider of 
the training funded whenever the institution meets certain criteria. 
 
Removes the requirements that the first $450,000 of the Fund assessment be deposited in 
and paid into the Special Employment and Training Services Fund for training and 
counseling assistance; requires the Fund assessment to be deposited in the Fund; requires 
the Fund assessment be used for worker training grants. 
 
Removes the provisions relating to an incumbent worker council and the incumbent worker 
training board. 
 
Expires December 31, 2008. 
 
INDIANA HB 1453 ENACTED May 13, 2005 

Effective July 1, 2005 

Coverage

Provides provisions concerning Professional Employer Organizations (PEO); provides that a 
covered employee of a PEO is an employee of the PEO. 

Financing

Provides that a PEO is responsible for the payment of contributions, penalties, and interest 
on wages paid by the PEO to the PEO’s covered employees during the term of the PE 
agreement; requires the PEO to report and pay all required contributions to the 
unemployment compensation fund using the state employer account number and the 
contribution rate of the PEO; requires, upon the termination of a PE agreement or failure 
by a PEO to submit reports or make tax payments as required, the client to be treated as a 
new employer without a previous experience record unless the client is otherwise eligible 



for an experience rating. 
 
KENTUCKY SB 113 

(CH 12) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 2, 2005 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

Provides that if any employing unit succeeds to a portion of the trade or business of 
another employing unit, becomes a subject employer with substantially the same 
ownership, management or control as the predecessor, lays off/terminates more than one-
half of the original employees transferred with 6 months, then the succession and creation 
of the new employing unit will be voided, and the benefits due to the layoffs/terminations 
will be charged to the reserve account of the original employing unit. 
 
Provides that if there is a transfer of the reserve account upon succession, the successor's 
contribution rate will be recalculated if there is a substantially common ownership, 
management, or control of the predecessor and successor, effective on the first day of the 
calendar quarter immediately following the date of the transfer. 
 
MAINE HB 310 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 1, 2005 

Coverage

Clarifies the exemption to the definition of employment concerning the delivery and 
distribution of periodicals by replacing the term "periodicals" with the term "newspapers or 
magazines." 
 
MARYLAND SB 983 

(CH 187) 
ENACTED April 26, 2005 
EFFECTIVE July 1, 2005 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that unemployment benefits including benefits payable under the Ex-Service 
Members program may not be reduced for any week that the individual receives or is 
eligible to receive military disability severance payments, applicable to all determinations 
completed on or after July 3, 2005. 
 
MICHIGAN HB 4414(P.A. 17) ENACTED May 4, 2005; EFFECTIVE July 1, 2005 



HB 4415(P.A. 16) 
SB 171(P.A. 18) 
SB 174(P.A. 19) 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

 
MONTANA HB 400 

(CH 92) 
ENACTED March 24, 2005; EFFECTIVE July 1, 2005 

Monetary Entitlement

Increases the minimum weekly benefit amount from 15 percent to 19 percent of the 
average weekly wage which is determined by dividing the average annual wage by 52; 
increases the minimum weekly benefit amount payable from $75 to $95. 
 
NORTH DAKOTA SB 2172 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 16, 2005 

Coverage

Excludes from coverage service performed as a participant in an Americorps program. 
 
OKLAHOMA SB 763 

(CH 182) 
ENACTED May 16, 2005 
EFFECTIVE November 1, 2005 

Administration

Permits disclosing employer tax information and benefit claim information to the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority for use in determining eligibility for a program that will provide 
subsidies for health insurance premiums for qualified employers, employees, self-employed 
persons, and unemployed persons.  

Appeals

Deletes the provision requiring employers to file a bond to appeal from decisions other than 
those assessing contributions. 

Coverage

Includes in the definition of employer: if two or more employers share common ownership, 



management, or control, the Commission may combine their merit rating accounts, 
including their actual contribution and benefit experience, annual payrolls, and contribution 
rates into one account. 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

Increases the cap on the petty cash fund from $250 to $600. 
 
Appropriates $9,269,043 Reed Act money for the purpose of paying administrative 
expenses for Employment Service programs, the Unemployment Insurance program., and 
One-Stop Center expenses (attributable to employment service and unemployment 
insurance.  
 
Modifies the language for noncharging to require the employer to prove to the 
Commission's satisfaction that the benefit wage charge includes wages paid by the 
employer to employees or former employees who are unemployed for certain specific 
reasons in order for the employer to be relieved of a benefit wage charge.  
 
Deletes the provision establishing a $700 petty cash fund for providing meal allowances to 
Job Corps students. 

Monetary Entitlement

Expands the types of qualified retirement plan payments that are excluded from the 
definition of wages. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that good cause for quitting due to domestic violence or abuse is no longer 
conditioned on the filing of a protection order effective at the time of termination. 

Overpayments

Modifies the benefit overpayment provisions relating to fraud overpayment and claimant 
error overpayment to require the Commission to deduct the principal sum of benefits from 
any future benefits payable to the individual. 
 
OREGON HB 3305 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 21, 2005 

Extensions and Special Programs



Changes the emergency benefit period to begin May 1, 2005, and end August 13, 2005; 
requires individuals to have exhausted regular benefits with payment for the week ending 
December 4, 2004, or later; entitles an individual to receive 25 percent of most recent 
regular Oregon claim; emergency benefits applicable for weeks beginning May 1, 2005, 
and ending August 13, 2005. 
 
RHODE ISLAND 2307Rule 28 ENACTED Jaunary 3, 2005 

EFFECTIVE January 19, 2005 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Considers holiday pay as wages which will be used in the base period when computing a 
claim; deducts holiday pay from the gross earnings during the week in which the holiday 
occurs and prior to computing a weekly benefit amount or recording a waiting period; 
considers holiday pay for a holiday under the state unemployment insurance law if the 
holiday is a declared holiday. 
 
SOUTH CAROLINA HB 3682 ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 3, 2005 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 provides meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly attempting to violate 
the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and  

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

Noncharges a contributing employer's account for benefits paid for voluntary quitting or a 
discharge due to domestic violence. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that an individual is eligible for waiting week credit and unemployment 
compensation for voluntary leaving or discharged because of circumstances directly 
resulting from domestic abuse and certain other conditions are met. 
 
Provides that an individual is considered to have been discharged for cause connected with 
the work and is ineligible for benefits if the insured worker fails or refuses to take a drug 
test or submits to a drug test which tests positive for illegal drugs or legal drugs used 
unlawfully and other conditions are met. 
 
SOUTH DAKOTA HB 1228 

(CH 280) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 2, 2005 

Financing

Increases employers' contribution rates quarterly (instead of annually) if on the last day of 
any calendar quarter (instead of on the computation date), the amount in the 
unemployment compensation fund reduced; the increased contribution rates apply to 
taxable wages paid on and after the first day of the immediately following calendar 
quarter; rates remain in effect until the balance in the unemployment fund on the last day 
of any quarter is equal to or greater than 150 percent of the highest balance in the fund. 
 



Provides that beginning calendar year 2006 and thereafter, 100 percent (formerly 50 
percent) of noncharges for the preceding calendar year is to be divided by the total taxable 
payroll for the preceding calendar year to compute the benefits prorated among all 
employer experience-rating accounts when benefits paid are not charged to the 
experience-rating account of any employer. 
 
Repeals the provision establishing September 30 as the annual computation date and 
requiring on such computation day each year for interest credited to the state's account in 
the unemployment trust fund be credited to the employers' experience-rating account 
having an excess of contributions over total charges of benefits. 
 
UTAH HB 10 

(CH 12) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 1, 2005 

Financing

Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

Defines taxable wages as all remuneration paid by an employer to employees for insured 
work that is subject to unemployment insurance contributions. 
 
Defines unemployment experience as all factors, including benefit costs and taxable wages, 
which bear a direct relation to an employer's unemployment risk. 
 
Provides that the employer's overall contribution rate does not include the addition of any 
penalty applicable to an employer assessed a penalty rate for knowingly violating or 
attempting to violate and for knowingly advising to violate the law regarding transfers of 
unemployment experience. 
 
Provides for recalculation and assignment of employer contribution rates upon the transfer 
or acquisition of a trade or business. 
 
VIRGINIA HB 2371 

(CH 464) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 21, 2005 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Disqualifies an individual for misconduct connected with his work due to chronic 
absenteeism or tardiness in deliberate violation of a known policy of the employer or one or 
more unapproved absences following a written reprimand or warning relating to more than 



one unapproved absence; provides that the Commission may consider evidence of 
mitigating circumstances in determining whether misconduct occurred. 
 
VIRGINIA SB 128 

(CH 01) 
ENACTED January 27, 2005 
EFFECTIVE as indicated 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Provides that the weekly benefit amount (WBA) will be reduced by 50 percent of Federal 
social security pensions only if the fund balance factor is below 50 percent, effective the 
first Sunday in January following such determination; the WBA will not be reduced by 
Federal social security pensions if the fund balance factor meets or exceeds 50 percent. 
 
VIRGINIA SB 1047 

(CH 892) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE March 28, 2005 

Coverage

Changes from using the ABC test to using the Internal Revenue Service 20-factor test in 
determining whether an individual is an employee or independent contractor. 
 
VIRGINIA HB 2840 

(CH 125) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE January 20, 2005 

Monetary Entitlement

Increases the weekly earnings disregarded from $25 to $50. 
 
WASHINGTON HB 2255 

(CH 133) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE April 22, 2005 

Financing

Provides that the difference in benefits by calculating the weekly benefit amount as an 
amount equal to 3.85 percent of the average 2 highest quarters of the base period, 
effective on or after April 24, 2005, and before July 1, 2007, instead of calculating the 
weekly benefit amount as 1 percent of total base period wages will not be charged to the 
experience rating account of any contribution paying employer. 
 
Provides for the calculation of a different flat social cost factor for year 2007 to be used to 
determine the graduated social cost factor rate. 
 
Changes from using the standard industrial classification to using the North American 
industry classification system (NAICS). 
 
Provides that for contributions assessed beginning July 1, 2005, through June 30, 2007, for 
employers with certain NAICS codes, the graduated social cost factor rate is 0.0. 
 
Provides for a new definition of "social cost" for rate year 2007. 
 
Requires that moneys for the payment of regular benefits must be withdrawn during fiscal 
years 2006 and 2007 in the following order:  

 first, from 2002 Reed Act moneys credited to the state's Unemployment Trust Fund 



the amount equal to the amount of benefits charged that exceed the contributions 
paid in the 4 consecutive calendar quarters ending on June 30, 2006, for the fiscal 
year 2006 calculation, and ending on June 30, 2007, for the fiscal year 2007 
calculation, because the social cost factor contributions that employers are subject 
to are less than the social cost factor contributions that these employers could 
otherwise have been subject to under state law;  

 second, from all other moneys credited to the state's Unemployment Trust Fund.  

Provides that after the order of withdrawal required above, if applicable, moneys for the 
payment of regular benefits must be requisitioned during calendar year 2007 in the 
following order:  

 first, from 2002 Reed Act moneys credited to the state's Unemployment Trust Fund, 
the amount equal to the amount of benefits paid as provided in state law beginning 
on April 24, 2005, and ending on June 30, 2007, that exceed the amount of benefits 
that would have been paid if the weekly benefit amount had been determined as 1 
percent of the total wages paid in the individual's base year;  

 second, from all other moneys credited to the state’s Unemployment Trust Fund.  

Monetary Entitlement

Changes the calculation of the weekly benefit amount to require that the weekly benefit 
amount be an amount equal to 3.85 percent of the average 2 highest quarters of the base 
period, effective on or after April 24, 2005, and before July 1, 2007. 
 
WEST VIRGINIA HB 2163 

(A.N. 242) 
ENACTED and EFFECTIVE May 4, 2005 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Requires the weekly benefit amount not to be reduced by any Social Security retirement 
benefits an individual is receiving or has received or similar payments under any act of 
Congress.  
 
WYOMING SB 80 

(CH 196) 
ENACTED March 2, 2005 
EFFECTIVE July 1, 2005 

Administration

Requires the Department to disclose and submit specified information including 
unemployment insurance benefit, wage, and claim information to certain persons of 
specific departments and agencies upon request and pursuant to contract and on a 
reimbursable basis. 
 
Requires (instead of allowing) the Department to disclose and furnish copies of records 
relating to UI administration to the railroad retirement board. 
 
Provides that the Department may upon request and pursuant to contract and on a 
reimbursable basis disclose necessary information obtained from any employing unit, 
individual, and any determination of benefit rights to any state or federal agency 
administering the Wagner Peyser Act or Workforce Investment Act training services, except 
when information and determinations are confidential. 



 
Provides that the Department may disclose information to the Social Security 
Administration utilizing the UI interstate inquiry system pursuant to contract on a 
nonreimbursable basis.  
 
Provides that the Department may require any recipient of information disclosed to comply 
with any safeguards necessary as specified in federal regulation to ensure the information 
will be used only for purposes authorized. 
 
Provides that the Department may and subject to commission regulations disclose 
necessary information obtained from any employing unit, individual, and any determination 
of benefit rights to any state or federal agency administering UI laws or federal tax laws 
and to the office of the U.S. bankruptcy trustee, except when information and 
determinations are confidential. 
 
Repeals the provision providing that the Department may furnish information obtained 
under certain offices and services to any person or agency operating a public employment 
service.  

Financing

Provides that a temporary service contractor is the employing unit of the temporary worker 
provided to an employer and is liable for unemployment contributions. 
 
Amends state law to include SUTA dumping prevention provisions which:  

 mandate transfer of experience from one employer to another when there is 
substantially common ownership, management, or control; apply to both total and 
partial transfers;  

 prohibit transfer of experience if a person becomes an employer by acquiring an 
existing business and if the purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a lower 
contribution rate; apply to persons, who prior to the acquisition of the business, (a) 
had no employees and (b) had some employees but not enough to be an employer 
for state law purposes;  

 provide meaningful civil and criminal penalties for knowingly violating or attempting 
to violate the law's requirements, and for knowingly advising to violate the law; and 

 establish procedures to identify the transfer or acquisition of a business for 
purposes of the law.  

Monetary Entitlement

Clarifies that the Department may make a monetary redetermination at any time prior to 
the end of the benefit year (instead of within 1 year after the date of an original 
determination) whether or not a party has filed a timely appeal. 

Nonmonetary Eligibility

Repeals the provisions requiring the withholding of the amount of child support specified by 
the individual from benefits and any amount otherwise required to be withheld from 
benefits due to legal process. 
 
Eliminates the 1-week waiting period, effective July 1, 2005. 



  

 


